BERNARD MALAMUD
Bernard Malamud portrait by John Bragg, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1914-1986
Nationality: American
Literary Periods:
American Confessional Preiod, 1960-
Postwar Period, 1945-1999
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
John Barth
John Cheever
Donald Barthelme
Grace Paley
John O'Hara
William Faulkner
Flannery O'Connor
RELATED AUTHORS
- Philip Roth
- Isaac Bashevis Singer
- Saul Bellow
- John Hawkes
FILM ADAPTATIONS
- The Natural [DVD]Directed by Barry Levinson | Available at Bates DVD PS3563.A4 N3 2001
SPACER
Bernard Malamud The Natural signed copy by Oregon State University, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Bernard Malamud, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to look at... |
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Malamud from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You may also find useful...
PRIMARY SOURCES: IN PRINT
|
Archival Collections/Papers
|
You'll also want to check out...
Conversations with Bernard Malamud (1991) by
Bernard Malamud gave his first interview in 1958, his last in 1986. During the intervening twenty-eight years he was formally interviewed at least forty times. This book collects twenty-eight of the best interviews, ranging from brief conversations with journalists to more extended and leisurely conversations with academics and writers. Winner of two National Book Awards and a Pulitzer Prize, this universally praised author of "The Magic Barrel," "The Fixer," "The Natural," and many stories that are acclaimed among the masterpieces of American fiction appears in these interviews quite appropriately as an artist devoted more to his work than to discussing it. This collection includes interviews in which Malamud gives a commentary on each of his novels and on many of his short stories. What emerges from these encounters with this great author is a sense of Malamuds deep, lifetime commitment to his art and to a seriousness of purpose. Though there is very little domest
Call Number: Miller PS3563.A4 Z466 1991ISBN: 0878054898
The fixer (1966) by Call Number: Miller PS3563.A4 F5
The natural (1952) by Call Number: Miller PS3563.A4 N3
