ALDO LEOPOLD
.jpg)
Aldo Leopold taken by Howard Zahniser, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Nationality: American
Literary Movements:
Wilderness Conservation
Land Ethics
Ecological Conscience
Nature Writing
RELATED AUTHORS
- Edward Abbey
- John James Audubon
- William Bartram
- John Burroughs
- Rachel Carson
- Ralph Waldo Emerson
- Richard Jefferies
- Madhaviah Krishnan
- John Muir
- Henry David Thoreau
- Gilbert White
SPACER
.jpg)
Aldo Leopold trip to the Rio Gavilan taken by Pacific Southwest Region 5, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Aldo Leopold, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Leopold from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
- Green Fire : Aldo Leopold and a Land Ethic for Our Time [FILM]Directed by Ann Dunsky, Steve Dunsky, Dave Steinke | Aldo Leopold Foundation, U.S. Forest Service, Center for Humans and Nature | Olin Library SCIENCE DVD QH31.L618 G74 2011
Leopold's Shack and Ricketts's Lab (2010) by
Aldo Leopold and Ed Ricketts are giants in the history of environmental awareness. They were born ten years and only about 200 miles apart and died within weeks of each other in 1948. Yet they never met and they didn't read each other's work. This illuminating book reveals the full extent of their profound and parallel influence both on science and our perception of natural world today. In a lively comparison, Michael J. Lannoo shows how deeply these two ecological luminaries influenced the emergence both of environmentalism and conservation biology. In particular, he looks closely at how they each derived their ideas about the possible future of humanity based on their understanding of natural communities. Leopold and Ricketts both believed that humans cannot place themselves above earth's ecosystems and continue to survive. In light of climate change, invasive species, and collapsing ecosystems, their most important shared idea emerges as a powerful key to the future.
Call Number: Bates GE195 .L37 2010ISBN: 9780520264786
PRIMARY SOURCES: IN PRINT
|
Archival Collections/Papers
|
Some of Leopold's writings...
A Sand County Almanac (1987) by
This special edition of the highly acclaimed A Sand County Almanac commemorates the one hundredth anniversary of the birth of Aldo Leopold, one of the foremost conservationists of our century. First published in 1949, it combines some of the finest nature writing since Thoreau with anoutspoken and highly ethical regard for America's relationship to the land. It is a unique book, a classic work of conservation, the forefunner of such important books as Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Edward Abbey's Desert Solitaire, and Robert Finch's The Primal Place.
Call Number: Colby SCIENCE QH81 .L56 1987ISBN: 0195053052
Round River; from the journals of Aldo Leopold by Call Number: Colby SCIENCE QH81 .L558
Game management by Call Number: Bowdoin SK361 .L38
