JOHN KEATS
John Keats by William Hilton, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1795-1821
Nationality: British
Literary Periods:
Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Romantic Period, 1780-1837
Literary Movements:
Cockney School, ca. 1800-1850
Romanticism 1780-1837
Brief Biography (Literature Online)
Author Chronology (Literary Encyclopedia)
Bibliography (Literature Online)
RELATED AUTHORS
- William Blake
- Lord Byron
- Samuel Taylor Coleridge
- Percy Bysshe Shelley
WEB RESOURCES
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of John Keats, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Keats scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your Iliad Account
You'll also want to check out...
The Cambridge Companion to Keats (2001) by
In The Cambridge Companion to Keats, leading scholars discuss Keats's work in several fascinating contexts: literary history and key predecessors; Keats's life in London's intellectual, aesthetic and literary culture; the relation of his poetry to the visual arts; the critical traditions and theoretical contexts within which Keats's life and achievements have been assessed. These specially commissioned essays examine Keats's specific poetic endeavours, his striking way with language, and his lively letters as well as his engagement with contemporary cultures and literary traditions, his place in criticism, from his day to ours, including the challenge he poses to gender criticism. The contributions are sophisticated but accessible, challenging but lucid, and are complemented by an introduction to Keats's life, a chronology, a descriptive list of contemporary people and periodicals, a source-reference for famous phrases and ideas articulated in Keats's letters, a glossary of literary terms and a guide to further reading.
Call Number: Miller PR4837 .C27 2001ISBN: 0521651263
Keats : the religious sense (1976) by
The description for this book, Keats: The Religious Sense, will be forthcoming.
Call Number: Colby PR4838.R4 R9ISBN: 0691063168- Keats, Skepticism, and the Religion of Beauty (1979) by Call Number: Miller PR4838.R4 S5ISBN: 0820304700
The Aesthetic Development (2010) by
'Few people would be better qualified than the author to write this innovative and eagerly anticipated post-Kleinian book. Deeply versed in the opus of Bion and Meltzer, the author enhances the concept of "catastrophic change". The analyst who "eschews memory and desire" observes the subtle interplay of transference and countertransference (Meltzer's "counter dreaming") as it works through aesthetic conflicts. The ensuing reciprocity of the patients and analysts unconscious is revealed as the aesthetical and ethical basis of psychoanalysis. In that sense the psychoanalytical process parallels that of poetic and artistic inspiration. They are all generated by creative internal objects. Harris Williams' intellectual tour de force demonstrates convincingly the human capacity for symbolic thinking that underlies literary, artistic and psychoanalytic creativity. Her encyclopaedic understanding of literature, art and psychoanalysis contributes to this book's virtuosity.'- Irene Freeden, Senior Member of the British Association of Psychotherapists
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781855756175
The Keats Brothers (2011) by
John and George Keats-Man of Genius and Man of Power, to use Johns words-embodied sibling forms of the phenomenon we call Romanticism. Georges 1818 move to the western frontier of the United States, an imaginative leap across four thousand miles onto the tabula rasa of the American dream, created in John an abysm of alienation and loneliness that would inspire the poets most plangent and sublime poetry. Denise Gigantes account of this emigration places Johns life and work in a transatlantic context that has eluded his previous biographers, while revealing the emotional turmoil at the heart of some of the most lasting verse in English. In most accounts of Johns life, George plays a small role. He is often depicted as a scoundrel who left his brother destitute and dying to pursue his own fortune in America. But as Gigante shows, George ventured into a land of prairie fires, flat-bottomed riverboats, wildcats, and bears in part to save his brothers, John and Tom, from financial ruin. There was a vital bond between the brothers, evident in Johns letters to his brother and sister-in-law, Georgina, in Louisville, Kentucky, which run to thousands of words and detail his thoughts about the nature of poetry, the human condition, and the soul. Gigante demonstrates that Johns 1819 Odes and Hyperion fragments emerged from his profound grief following Georges departure and Toms death-and that we owe these great works of English Romanticism in part to the deep, lasting fraternal friendship that Gigante reveals in these pages.
Call Number: Bowdoin PR4836 .G47 2011ISBN: 9780674048560
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
Selected Letters of John Keats (2002) by
The letters of John Keats are, T. S. Eliot remarked, what letters ought to be; the fine things come in unexpectedly, neither introduced nor shown out, but between trifle and trifle. This edition, which features four rediscovered letters, three of which are being published here for the first time, affords readers the pleasure of the poet's trifles as well as the surprise of his most famous ideas emerging unpredictably.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0674007492
Keats' Endymion (1987) by
". . . Steinhoff in his introduction and notes is as illuminating on the influences of the Elizabethans, Milton, and the early Romantics on Keats as he is in his own reading of the poem."CHOICE
Call Number: PR4834.E7 S74 1987ISBN: 0878752366
John Keats, a Longman Cultural Edition (2006) by
From Longman's Cultural Editions series, John Keats, edited by Susan J. Wolfson, is the first edition organized to give a sense of the poet's thinking by interspersing letters, poems, and publications of reviews and contemporary works. This is a new event in editions of Keats, arranged not in the usual way of separating these writings, but rather by positioning them alongside the author's poems in order of composition or appearance in print, for a more holistic understanding of Keats's work. Editor Susan Wolfson has taken care that all poems and letters have been freshly edited from their sources, and the manuscripts reflect scriptive elements such as cross-outs and underlines. This edition also includes some unusual contextual writings, including newspaper reviews of Keats's publications.
Call Number: Miller PR4832 .W66 2007ISBN: 9780321236166
