Skip to main content

AUTHORS: HENRY JAMES

HENRY JAMES


Henry James drawing by John Singer Sargent

Brief biography 

Literary & topical timeline 

Bibliography of works
 

Dates: 1843-1916

Nationality: American
 

Literary Movements: 

Modernism c.1899-1945

 
Literary Periods: 

American Naturalistic and Symbolistic Period, 1900-1930

American Realistic Period. 1865-1900

Modernist Period, 1899-1945

James's contemporaries

George Eliot

Matthew Arnold

Emile Zola

Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Ford Maddox Ford

Andre Gide

Joseph Conrad

Robert Louis Stevenson

Stephen Crane

RELATED AUTHORS

William Dean Howells

Mark Twain

Edith Wharton

 

Washington Square

http://ephemeralnewyork.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/henry-james-washington-square/

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

 

Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Henry James, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies

You may also find helpful...
 

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Henry James from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.

You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES

Archival Collections/Papers

 

You may also be interested in...

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next