ALDOUS HUXLEY
Aldous Huxley by Henrie Manuel, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1894-1963
Nationality: British/English
BIOGRAPHY
Aldous Huxley; a biography (1973) by
A full-scale biography by the brilliant English novelist, an intimate friend of the Huxleys through four decades. She re-creates not only the private Huxley and the literary Huxley but the entire intellectual and social era to which he was central. One of the great classic English biographies...as forbidding to competitors as Boswell's life of Johnson. --Philip Hensher, Spectator
Call Number: PR6015.U9 Z562 v.1-2ISBN: 0002160064
Digital Classics Distribution/Films on Demand
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of Aldous Huxley, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Huxley scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
Aldous Huxley and the Search for Meaning (2010) by
Aldous Huxley, author of eleven novels, remains one of the towering figures of the twentieth century, his work resistant to passing fads in literature. This critical biography explores Huxley's life-long quest for self-actualization by interfacing the events of his life with details of the creative period that produced each book. The text weaves Huxley's letters, essays and interviews with the thematic content of each novel, providing a unique look into the man's life and work. Of utmost importance is the depiction of an individual striving for the intellectual growth that would yield a sound philosophical and spiritual view of life, one he infused into his work.
Call Number: Bates PR6015.U9 Z877 2010ISBN: 9780786447466
Aldous Huxley, New Edition (2010) by
Aldous Huxley has been called the 20th century's answer to the Renaissance thinker. He gained fame for his utopian and dystopian fiction, including Brave New World, Point Counter Point, Crome Yellow, and Ape and Essence. With an introductory essay from Yale literature professor Harold Bloom, this volume contains a collection of the finest contemporary criticism on Huxley, plus a bibliography, a chronology of the author's life, and an index for easy reference. Each title in the Bloom's Modern Critical Views series presents a well-rounded critical portrait of an influential writer by examining his or her body of work through eight to 12 full-length essays.
Call Number: Miller PR6015.U9 Z5645 2010ISBN: 9781604138665
Huxley's Brave New World (2008) by
Aldous Huxley was one of the most prophetic intellectuals of the twentieth century, and his best-known work was a novel of ideas that warned of a terrible future then 600 years away. Though ""Brave New World"", was published less than a century ago in 1932, many elements of the novel's dystopic future now seem an eerily familiar part of life in the 21st century.These essays reiterate the influence of ""Brave New World"" as a literary and philosophical document and describe how Huxley forecast the problems of late capitalism. The topics include the anti-utopian ideals represented by ""Brave New World's"" rigid caste system, the novel's influence on the philosophy of 'culture industry' philosophers Max Horkheimer and Theodor Adorno, the Nietzschean birth of tragedy in the novel's penultimate scene, and the relationship of the novel to other dystopian works including Ralph Ellison's ""Invisible Man"" and George Orwell's ""Nineteen Eighty-Four"".
Call Number: Miller PR6015.U9 B675 2008ISBN: 9780786436835
Aldous Huxley (2006) by
The essays on Aldous Huxley collected here were written between 1966 and 2005 and have been arranged in such a way that they approximate a book on Huxley as a modern satirical novelist of ideas. In this capacity, Huxley assessed the intellectual condition of his era, always excoriating folly but never losing sight of human potentialities, especially his own. Huxley's ingrained skepticism persisted into his later fictions, even after his conception of the nature of things improved. The amused and highly amusing Pyrrhonic aesthete turned into a Swiftian Prospero. Detached yet totally committed to bettering the human condition, Huxley epitomized the dedicated craftsman. This lifelong aesthetician, always a philosopher, continues to command attention as thinker, critic, and artist: both satirist and sage. (Series: "Human Potentialities". Studien zu Aldous Huxley & zeitgenossischer Kultur/Studies in Aldous Huxley & Contemporary Culture - Vol. 8)
Call Number: Bates PR6015.U9 Z759 2006ISBN: 3825896684
Reluctant Modernists (2003) by
This collection of essays is about modernist writers who believe that it is just as important to look backward as it is to look forward. Indeed, for most, looking backward is more important because it is only through the past that one can understand one's proper place in the present and in the future. That is why Huxley's rave New World rejects the past in the future--and by implication in the present--where it makes its satire so penetrating. Modernism, in other words, means for these writers not a radical break with the past, but a continuing search for what still connects them (and us) vitally with it. Evelyn S. Firchow is professor of German and Germanic philology at the University of Minnesota. Bernfried Nugel teaches at the University of Mnster, Germany, and is head of the Aldous Huxley Society. Peter Edgerly Firchow is professor of English at the University of Minnesota.
Call Number: Bates PR6015.U9 Z63 2003ISBN: 3825859622
PRIMARY SOURCES: DOCUMENTS
Archives
The most substantial collection of Aldous Huxley's few remaining papers (following the destruction of most in a fire) is at the library of the University of California at Los Angeles. Some are also at the Stanford University Library. -DLB
You'll also want to check out...
Aldous Huxley (2007) by
Of the ten thousand letters that Aldous Huxley wrote, only a fraction have been published. Almost forty years after the first appearance of a volume of Huxley's letters, those that were once considered too sensitive for publication can now be included in
Call Number: Bates & Bowdoin PR6015.U9 Z48 2007ISBN: 9781566636292
Between the Wars (1994) by
Newly published essays and letters, edited and introduced by David Bradshaw, showing Huxley's transformation from a scourge of the masses in the 1920s to their compassionate spokeman by the 1930s, and including writings on art and literature, and letters to H.L. Mencken and H.G. Wells.
Call Number: Miller PR6015.U9 Z48 1994ISBN: 1566635128
