Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Topic: Authors: ERNEST HEMINGWAY

ERNEST HEMINGWAY

Portrait of Ernest Hemingway taken by Portrait by Ermeni Studios derivative work: Beao and Fallschirmjäger, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Brief biography 

Literary & topical timeline 

Bibliography of works

Dates: 1899-1961

Nationality: American

Literary Periods: 

American Conformity and Criticism Period, 1930-1960

American Naturalistic and Symbolistic Period, 1900-1930

Modernist Period, 1899-1945

Twentieth Century, 1900-1999

Literary Movements: 

Lost Generation

Modernism c.1899-1945

RELATED AUTHORS

SPACE

The Sun Also Rises dust jacket credit: Jacket design (including the front cover illustration) by Cleonike Damianakes. The back cover portrait of Hemingway was drawn by Jack Blomshield.For countries that do not recognize the rule of the shorter term and define copyright term based the date of the author's death plus a set number of years:According to this post at Christopher Othen's blog, Damianakes died in 1979.)According to AskArt.com, Blomshield died in 1953.In some countries, if the back cover and front cover are considered to be separate works, one may be under copyright protection but not the other. For example: in countries with a copyright term of 50 p.m.a. (50 years after the death of the author), the copyright of Blomshield's portrait expired on January 1, 2004 (the beginning of the 51st year after Blomshield's death), while the copyright of the front cover illustration will not expire until January 1, 2030 (the beginning of the 51st year after Damianakes's death)., Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Scribner Writers Series  [Database]
Essay on the life and works of Ernest Hemingway, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

You'll also want to check out...  

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography  [Database]

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Hemingway scholarship published in books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.


You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS

Archival Collections/Papers

You may also be interested in...

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next