WILLIAM HAZLITT
William Hazlitt by John Hazlitt, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1778-1830
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Romantic Period, 1780-1837
Literary Movements:
Cockney School, ca. 1800-1850
Romanticism 1780-1837
HEADER
Death of Clorinda, by Gaetano Lapis, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons
Maidstone Museum
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of William Hazlitt, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Hazlitt scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out..
William Hazlitt (2015) by
Over the course of a literary career that extended from the lingering Malthusian controversies of the late eighteenth century to the brink of the Reform Act of 1832, William Hazlitt produced a remarkable body of committed radical journalism. Against the view that partisan passion underminedhis aesthetic judgment and compromised his celebrated disinterestedness, William Hazlitt: Political Essayist restores politics to the center of his achievement as a critic and essayist. In doing so Kevin Gilmartin explores his constructive relationship with the early nineteenth-century popularreform movement, while acknowledging his desire to reflect critically on radical politics and express his own doubts about social progress.Early chapters attend closely to his critical method and matters of style and form, focusing on the political development of his contradictory prose manner. Paradox and inconsistency are central to his attack on "Legitimacy", a term he drew form the lexicon of post-Napoleonic political journalism.In treating legitimate government as a revived form of divine right monarchy, Hazlitt often produced harrowing visions of the perfect refinement of oppressive power and the complete elimination of any principle of liberty or resistance. At the same time he found ways to preserve his commitment tooppositional political expression and the redemptive necessity of what he termed "a word uttered against". Later chapters bring together the spiritual heritage of rational Dissent and emerging democratic developments in London to understand Hazlitt's distinctive mobilization of radical memory as away of contending with present injustice and envisioning a political future.
Call Number: Miller PR4773 .G55 2015ISBN: 9780198709312
The Hazlitts : an account of their origin and descent, with autobiographical particulars of William (1926) by Call Number: Colby PR4772.E72 G7
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
- Essays of William HazlittSelected and Edited by Frank Carr | Colby College Special Collections ROBINSON LIBRARY ROBSN PR4772.E72 C3
PRIMARY SOURCES: DOCUMENTS
- Literary remains of the late William Hazlitt : with notice of his life - ROBSN PR4770 .A2 1836b - Special Collections
- Essays - PR4772.E72 G7 - Bowdoin Special Collections
- Sketches and essays - PR4772 .S5