THOMAS HARDY
Thomas Hardy by Frederick Hollyer, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1840-1928
Nationality: British
Literary Periods:
Edwardian Period, 1901-1914
Late Victorian Period, 1880-1901
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Victorian Period, 1837-1901
Literary Movements:
Naturalism
RELATED AUTHORS
- Charles Dickens
- D.H. Lawrence
- Emily Brontë
- Henry James
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
The Thomas Hardy Collection was started in the 1930s by Colby English professor Carl J. Weber. It is one of the largest Hardy collections in the United States, containing works by and about Hardy. The holdings include first editions, books from Hardy's library, manuscripts, numerous first appearances from periodicals, sheet music, and over 400 letters written by Hardy and his first and second wives, Emma and Florence.
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of Thomas Hardy, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Resource Center [DATABASE]Includes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Hardy scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
The Cambridge Companion to Thomas Hardy (1999) by
Thomas Hardy's fiction has had a remarkably strong appeal for general readers for decades, and his poetry has been acclaimed as among the most influential of the twentieth century. His work still creates passionate advocacy and opposition. The Cambridge Companion to Thomas Hardy is an essential introduction to this most enigmatic of writers. These commissioned essays from an international team of contributors comprises a general overview of all Hardy' s work and specific demonstrations of Hardy's ideas and literary skills. Individual essays explore Hardy's biography, aesthetics, his famous attachment to Wessex, and the impact on his work of developments in science, religion and philosophy in the late nineteenth century. Hardy's writing is also analysed against developments in contemporary critical theory and issues such as sexuality and gender. The volume also contains a detailed chronology of Hardy's life and publications, and a guide to further reading.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 0521562023
Character and Environment in the Novels of Thomas Hardy (1969) by
A study of the principal character in the Wessex novels, with special reference to the way they are molded by their environments.
Call Number: Miller PR4756.E5 G7ISBN: 9780838306628
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
Tess of the D'Urbervilles (1998) by
This critical edition of Thomas Hardy's widely taught 1891 British Victorian novel reprints the authoritative second impression of the 1920 Wessex edition together with critical essays that approach the work from five contemporary critical perspectives, and highly praised editorial apparatus that introduces the readers to the novel and the perspectives. The five essays illustrate cultural criticism, deconstruction, feminist and gender criticism, the new historicism, and reader-response criticism.
Call Number: Miller PR4748.A2 R57 1998ISBN: 0312163754
Jude the obscure : an authoritative text, backgrounds and contexts, criticism (1999) by
The text of the novel is again based on Hardy's final revision for the 1912 Wessex Edition. The Norton Critical Edition includes: expanded footnotes, further drawing out Hardy's web of allusions and comprehensively indicating the material culture in which he embeds this narrative; a selection of Hardy's poems--four of them new to this edition--that emphasises the biographical contexts from which parts of Jude the Obscure arose; nineteen critical responses, including twelve modern essays--eight of them new to the third edition. Simon Gatrell, Michael Hollington, Elaine Showalter, Victor Luftig and Mary Jacobus are among the new voices. Included are a chronology, and revised and expanded selected bibliography.
Call Number: Miller PR4746 .A1 1999ISBN: 039397278X
