MICHAEL FRAYN
Michael Frayn at Cambridge, taken by Chris Boland, 2011, via flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Dates: 1933-
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Postwar Period, 1945-1999
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Twenty-First Century, 2000-
COPENHAGEN ON DVD
PBS Hollywood presents
producer, Richard Fell
adapted and directed by Howard Davies
Miller DVD PN1997 .C6863 2002
LEARN MORE
The Copenhagen Interpretation:
Quantum Physics vs. Relativity
Danish Broadcasting Corp./Films on Demand (2004)
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series [Database]
Essays on the life and works of Michael Frayn, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
British Playwrights, 1956-1995 (1996) by Call Number: Miller PR736 .B75 1996ISBN: 0313287597See "Michael Frayn" chapter
The full room : an A-Z of contemporary playwriting (2001) by Call Number: Bates PR736 .D686 2000ISBN: 0413772306See Chapter "Michael Frayn"
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography 
[Database]
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Frayn scholarship published in books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog. If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
You'll also want to check out...
Understanding Michael Frayn (2006) by
Best known for his play ""Noises Off"", Michael Frayn has garnered widespread critical acclaim and a number of literary honors for his work as a journalist, playwright, novelist, philosopher, and translator. Published in 2002, his novel ""Spies"" won the Booker Prize and was short-listed for the Whitbread Prize, and he presides as his generation's foremost translator of Anton Chekhov. In this comprehensive assessment of Frayn's varied body of work, Merritt Moseley introduces readers to the accomplishments of one of Britain's most versatile writers. Beginning with Frayn's humorous journalism, which was vital to the ""satire boom"" of the 1960s, Moseley assesses the entirety of the writer's literary contributions, including his works of philosophy and autobiography. One of the first scholars to consider Frayn seriously as a novelist, Moseley provides careful readings of his fiction, including ""The Tin Man"", ""Sweet Dreams"", and ""Headlong"". Moseley also explores Frayn's development as a playwright, beginning in 1970 with the critically panned ""The Two of Us"". From 1970 through 1990, Frayn knew remarkable success for such award-winning plays as ""Alphabetical Order"" and ""Make or Break"", as well as disastrous failure with ""Look Look"". Moseley follows Frayn's career through these highs and lows and beyond to discuss his work for television and the stage, particularly his triumphant recovery with the hit ""Copenhagen"".
Call Number: Bates PR6056.R3 Z76 2006ISBN: 9781570036279
Modern British Drama, 1890-1990 (1992) by Call Number: Miller PR736 .I5 1992ISBN: 0521305365See Chapter "Traditionalism and Theatricality: Alan Ayckbourn and Michael Frayn"
Playing for Time (2007) by Call Number: Miller PR736 .C68 2007ISBN: 9780719061974See Chapter "Nunc Instantis: Arcadia and Copenhagen"
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS
PRIMARY SOURCES: DOCUMENTS
Making Plays (2000) by Call Number: Bates PR736 .M34 2000ISBN: 0312233728See Chapter "Interview with Michael Frayn on Copenhagen"
A Search for a Postmodern Theatre (1991) by Call Number: Miller PS352 .S43 1991ISBN: 0313273642See Chapter "Interview with Michael Frayn"
