WILLIAM FAULKNER
Photo of William Faulkner taken by Carl Van Vechten, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1897-1962
Nationality: American
Literary Movements:
Modernism c.1899-1945
Stream of Consciousness Novel
Literary Periods:
American Conformity and Criticism Period, 1930-1960
American Naturalistic and Symbolistic Period, 1900-1930
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
NOBEL PRIZE SPEECH
Read Faulkner's banquet speech,
December 10, 1950
SPACER
The Faulkner Portable taken by Gary Bridgman, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Essay on the life and works of William Faulkner, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
A William Faulkner Encyclopedia (1999) by
Sometimes called the American Shakespeare, William Faulkner is known for providing poignant and accurate renderings of the human condition, creating a world of colorful characters in his fictional Yoknapatawpha County, and writing in a style that is both distinct and demanding. Though he is known as a Southern writer, his appeal transcends regional and even national boundaries. Since winning the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1950, he has been the subject of more than 5,000 scholarly books and articles. Academic interest in his career has been matched by popular acclaim, with some of his works adapted for the cinema. This reference is an authoritative guide to Faulkner's life, literature, and legacy. The encyclopedia includes nearly 500 alphabetically arranged entries for topics related to Faulkner and his world. Included are entries for his works and major characters and themes, as well as the literary and cultural contexts in which his texts were conceived, written, and published. There are also entries for relatives, friends, and other persons important to Faulkner's biography; historical events, persons, and places; social and cultural developments; and literary and philosophical terms and movements. The entries are written by expert contributors who bring a broad range of perspectives and experience to their analysis of his work. Entries typically conclude with suggestions for further reading, and the volume closes with a bibliography and detailed index.
Call Number: Miller PS3511.A86 Z459 1999ISBN: 0313298513
A Faulkner glossary (1964) by Call Number: Colby PS3511.A86 Z965
Who's who in Faulkner by Call Number: Colby PS3511.A86 Z784
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on William Faulkner from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
- William Faulkner: A Bibliography of Secondary Works compiled by Beatrice Ricks
Miller Library | REF Z8288 .R53 - Also see these journals...Southern Review (1990--), 1935-1942 and 1965-1976 in paper, 1970-2003 in microfilm
PRIMARY SOURCES
|
Faulkner at the University of Virginia William Faulkner: "Man Working" 1919-1962; A Catalogue of the William Faulkner Collections at the University of Virginia Faulkner at Virginia: An Audio Archive |
Other archival collections:
- Louis Daniel Brodsky Collection, Center for Faulkner Studies, Southeast Missouri State University
Faulkner: A Comprehensive Guide to the Brodsky Collection Colby Storage Z8288 .F38 1982 v.5 - Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection, New York Public Library
- Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin
- William Wisdom Collection, Tulane University
You'll also want to check out...
Thinking of Home (2000) by
"How often have I lain beneath rain on a strange roof, thinking of home," says Darl Bundren in William Faulkner's As I Lay Dying. How much Faulkner himself is speaking may be suggested by this moving collection of nearly 150 letters. Written during his twenties, these letters describe Faulkner's first encounters with the North ("...I made my first subway trip yesterday. The experience showed me that we are not descended from monkeys, as some say, but from lice."); his brief World War I military service, which grew in the retelling; the productive New Orleans months with Sherwood Anderson; and his first trip to Europe, with cold autumn days in Paris ("Good thing the Lord gave these folks wine--they rate a recompense of some kind for this climate.") Fascinating in themselves for their close observation of people and places, the letters also offer glimmers of The Sound and the Fury and other future works, as the young writer stores up characters, settings, and events that will re-emerge, transformed, int the great novels of his maturity. Never before published, these letters are from the Faulkner collection at the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center at the University of Texas at Austin. "These letters, for years sequestered and unavailable, are among the most informative, touching, and eloquent William Faulkner ever wrote. No Faulkner specialist can be without this book; no Faulkner admirer should be without it."--Joseph Blotner, author of Faulkner: A Biography
Call Number: Miller PS3511.A86 Z48 2000ISBN: 0393321231
Selected Letters of William Faulkner (1977) by Call Number: Miller PS3511.A86 Z546 1976ISBN: 0394494857
William Faulkner's library, a catalogue by Call Number: Colby & Bowdoin Z997 .F25
