T.S. ELIOT
Photo of T.S. Eliot taken by Ellie Koczela, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Dates: 1888-1965
Nationality: American/British
a.k.a: Thomas Stearns Eliot
Activities:
Poet
Playwright
Publisher
Literary Movements:
Modernism c.1899-1945
New Criticism
Vorticism
Literary Periods:
Inter-War Period, 1918-1939
Modernist Period, 1899-1945
Postwar Period, 1945-1999
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
ELIOT READS ELIOT
T. S. E. by Call Number: AUDIOSET 433ISBN: 0739315358Includes newly released recordings
Companion book contains the text of the poems and a commentary by J.D. McClatchy
LET US GO THERE
Words of T.S. Eliot taken by Academy of American Poets, 2009 (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0), via flickr.
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of T.S. Eliot, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Resource CenterIncludes entries from Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series
- Literature Online (LION)Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
A Concordance to "The Complete Poems and Plays of T. S. Eliot" (1995) by
This long-awaited Eliot concordance has been prepared at the Literary and Linguistic Computing Centre at the University of Cambridge. It is based on the Faber edition of The Complete Poems and Plays 1969, reprinted with corrections in 1970.
Call Number: Miller PS3509.L43 Z459 1995ISBN: 0801415616
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database,
indexing the most authoritative scholarship on T.S. Eliot from books and academic journals.
MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection
as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
- Browse all Colby Libraries materials about T.S. EliotFor literary analysis, pay special attention to these subject areas:
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Biography
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Criticism And Interpretation
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Influence
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Literary Style
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Symbolism
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Technique
Half-Century of Eliot Criticism (1975) by
Listing and commenting on almost 2700 items, the work provides the only annotated bibliography of a major contemporary author that is virtually complete. Includes three indexes.
Call Number: Colby PS3509.L43 Z99 1972ISBN: 0838778089
PRIMARY SOURCES: IN PRINT
|
Major Archival Collections/Papers
|
You'll also want to check out...
- The Criterion: A Quarterly Review
Edited by T.S. Eliot, The Criterion ran from October 1922 until January 1939.
Available in the periodical stacks in Miller Library
Complete Poems and Plays (1969) by
This collection contains the following: Collected Poems 1909-62 Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats Poems Written in Early Youth Murder in the Cathedral The Family Reunion The Cocktail Party The Confidential Clerk The Elder Statesman
Call Number: Miller PS3509 .L43 1969ISBN: 0571088570
The Annotated Waste Land with Eliot's Contemporary Prose (2005) by
One of the twentieth century’s most powerful--and controversial--works, The Waste Land was published in the desolate wake of the First World War. This definitive edition of T. S. Eliot’s masterpiece presents a new and authoritative version of the poem, along with all the essays Eliot wrote as he was composing The Waste Land, seven of them never before published in book form. The volume is enriched with period photographs and a London map of locations mentioned in the poem. Featured in the book are Lawrence Rainey’s groundbreaking account of how The Waste Land came to be composed; a history of the reactions of admirers and critics; and full annotations to the poem and Eliot’s essays. The edition transforms our understanding of one of the greatest modernist writers and the magnificent poem that became a landmark in literary history.
Call Number: Miller PS3509.L43 W3 2005ISBN: 0300097433
Letters of T. S. Eliot (1988) by
Eliot's correspondence from his childhood in St. Louis until he had settled in England and published The Waste Land. Edited and with an Introduction by Valerie Eliot; Index; photographs.
Call Number: Miller PS3509.L43 Z48 1988 v.1ISBN: 0151508852
The letters of T.S. Eliot volume 2 (2009) by Call Number: Bowdoin PS3509.L43 Z48 2009 v.1 - v. 9ISBN: 9780571235094
PRIMARY SOURCES: ONLINE
- Nobel Prize Banquet SpeechThomas Stearns Eliot's speech at the Nobel Banquet at the City Hall in Stockholm, December 10, 1948
- Audio Recordings from The Poetry ArchiveJourney of the Magi
Extract from Four Quartets
The Waste Land Part I - The Burial of the Dead
The Waste Land Part II - A Game of Chess
The Waste Land Part III - The Fire Sermon
The Waste Land Part IV - Death by Water
The Waste Land Part V - What the Thunder Said
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowSearch for "T.S. Eliot", 157 full-text poems
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.