It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Frances Burney (1752-1840), wrote several popular novels in the late eighteenth century. Her characterizations of women and society influenced a number of subsequent authors, including Jane Austen (1775-1817) and William Makepeace Thackeray (1811-1863)." -Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series Essay on the life and works of Frances (Fanny) Burney, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Frances Burney from books and academic journals.
MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowA database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
The Cambridge Companion to Frances Burney (2007) by Peter SaborFrances Burney (1752-1840) was the most successful female novelist of the eighteenth century. Her first novel Evelina was a publishing sensation; her follow-up novels Cecilia and Camilla were regarded as among the best fiction of the time and were much admired by Jane Austen. Burney's life was equally remarkable: a protegee of Samuel Johnson, lady-in-waiting at the court of George III, later wife of an emigre aristocrat and stranded in France during the Napoleonic Wars, she lived on into the reign of Queen Victoria. Her journals and letters are now widely read as a rich source of information about the Court, social conditions and cultural changes over her long lifetime. This Companion is the first volume to cover all her works, including her novels, plays, journals and letters, in a comprehensive and accessible way. It also includes discussion of her critical reputation, and a guide to further reading.
Call Number: Miller PR3316.A4 Z5855 2007
PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS ONLINE
Camilla recovering from her swoon, illustration of a scene from Camilla, or A Picture of Youth, published in 1796. Illustration by Henry Singleton, 1766-1839 (oil on canvas). DocumentType: Painting Source: Bridgeman Art Library Database: Ecco
See html, full-text transcriptions of Burney's works. Texts available full-text online include:
PRIMARY SOURCES: ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS
"Burney is the first important novelist whose drafts of fiction survive in any quantity. The Burneys were all prolific letter writers and diary keepers, and every major library houses some Burney material. Some letters and other papers remain in private hands." -DLB You will find the major collections of Burneyana listed below.
Includes "drafts of parts of all the novels save The Wanderer (of which no draft has yet come to light). The Berg Collection also includes the manuscripts of the plays, as well as verses, notes for unwritten novels, and a great number of diaries and letters by Burney and her family." -DLB
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowA large digital collection of early English news media, consisting of about 1,270 titles and one million pages gathered by the Reverend Carles Burney in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
British Periodicals CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowScanned versions of the full texts of over 500 British periodicals dating from the 17th century to the early 20th, with coverage of topics such as literature, science, and the arts.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2014This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of The Times [London] from 1785-2014. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.
About the centre:
"The Burney Centre at McGill University brings together archival material on the Burney family from around the world. Its holdings include microfilm copies of the major Burney collections at the Berg Collection (New York Public Library), the British Library and the Beinecke Library (Yale University).
The Centre is dedicated to the publication of complete, definitive scholarly editions of the journals and letters of Frances Burney (1752-1840) and the letters and memoirs of her father, the music historian Dr Charles Burney (1726-1814)."
About the Society:
"The Burney Society (UK), formed in 1994, is a friendly, non-profit making literary society, dedicated to the study and celebration of the works of the Burney family, especially Frances Burney d’Arblay (1752-1840), her life, her contemporaries and her times."
About Chawton House Library:
"Chawton House Library is a UK registered charity with a unique collection of books focusing on women's writing in English from 1600 to 1830. This specialist collection, set in the home and working estate of Jane Austen's brother, provides the opportunity to study and savour the texts in their original setting and inspires passion in readers of all ages."
Description from Web site:
"The population of Britain grew rapidly during the Georgian period, from around five million people in 1700 to nearly nine million by 1801. It was a time of extreme luxury and extreme poverty, of burgeoning consumer culture and the birth of industrialisation; of spectacular entertainments from exhibitions of giants and exotic animals to public hangings. Explore the newspapers, books, illustrations, posters and political reports of the time to find out more..."