PAT BARKER
Pat Barker Bibliography
a.k.a.:
Patricia Barker
Patricia Margaret Barker
Dates: 1943-
Nationality: British/English
Literary Periods:
Postwar Period, 1945-1999
Twentieth Century, 1900-1999
Twenty-First Century, 2000-
Literary Movements:
Postmodernism 1963-
REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Pat Barker, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies
| You'll also want to check out... |
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline.
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowA literary reference work written by specialists from universities around the world, providing articles on authors, works, and literary and historical topics.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window A database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
RESEARCH & CRITICISM
Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Pat Barker from books and academic journals. MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
You'll also want to check out...
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window A database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSee "Literature Criticism" for journal articles, "Reviews and News" for book reviews, and "Primary Sources" for interviews
Pat Barker and the Mediation of Social Reality (2009) by
CONTENTS:
Social representation and the question of reality
Caging or community? the "working class" novels
Seeking "normality" in a world of fictions: The man who wasn't there
Heroic masculinity and the enemy within: The regeneration trilogy
The family, constructed reality and collective traumatic memory: Another world
"I believed my own story": composite identity and traumatic memory in Border crossing
Social representation and the mediation of reality: Double vision
The "fear of being irrelevant" in a time of war: representing self and other in Life class
Call Number: Miller PR6052.A6488 Z94 2009ISBN: 9781604976496
Critical Perspectives on Pat Barker (2005) by
Critical Perspectives on Pat Barker brings together an international roster of scholars who pay detailed attention to the work and career of this prizewinning British writer, providing critical insight into each of her nine novels, from Union Street (1982) through the Regeneration trilogy (1991-95) to Double Vision (2003). The eighteen essays in the volume are organized into five sections: ""Writing Working-Class Women,"" ""Dialogue under Pressure,"" ""Men at War,"" ""The Talking Cure,"" and ""Regenerating the Wasteland."" Taken individually, each of the essays yields a variety of insights into Barker's fictions; taken as a whole, the collection provides a fresh and timely overview of Barker's oeuvre and her creative exploration of society. The volume probes Barker's keenly historicized and yet topical preoccupations: the social and psychological ramifications of planned violence in war and random violence in British villages and cities, and the comforts and tensions in relationships, whether between men in war, women in postindustrial cities, or men and women in sex and marriage. The volume also dissects Barker's unflinching gaze on class, sex, murder, and psychosis, and her provocative and emotionally moving images. It includes an interview with the novelist, incorporates her observations on writing her most recent novel, Double Vision, in the aftermath of wars in Bosnia and Iraq, and explores the film adaptation of Regeneration. The volume also presents Sarah Daniels's dramatic adaptation of Barker's novel Blow Your House Down, which has been staged but has not previously appeared in print.
Call Number: Bates & Bowdoin PR6052.A6488 Z63 2005ISBN: 1570035709
Pat Barker (2006) by
This book offers readings of Barker's innovations in narrative form, her revisionist perspectives on history, class and gender, and her preoccupation with themes of trauma, haunting and terror. It also analyzes the reasons for her success and significance as a novelist. The chapters draw on contemporary theories of critical realism, gender and social identities, memory and narrative, in order to outline the debates with which Barker's work has consistently engaged.
Call Number: Bates PR6052.A6488 Z76 2005ISBN: 9780719065767
PRIMARY SOURCES
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowLook under the tabs for "Primary Sources" and "Multimedia"