It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Bridge We Call Home (2002) by AnaLouise Keating (Editor); Gloria Anzaldúa (Editor); Gloria Anzaldúa (Editor)More than twenty years after the ground-breaking anthology This Bridge Called My Back called upon feminists to envision new forms of communities and practices, Gloria E. Anzaldúa and AnaLouise Keating have painstakingly assembled a new collection of over eighty original writings that offers a bold new vision of women-of-color consciousness for the twenty-first century. Written by women and men--both "of color" and "white"--this bridge we call home will challenge readers to rethink existing categories and invent new individual and collective identities.
Making Face, Making Soul - Haciendo Caras (1990) by Gloria Anzaldúa (Editor)A bold collection of creative pieces and theoretical essays by women of color. New thought and new dialogue: a book that will teach in the most multiple sense of that word: a book that will be of lasting value to many diverse communities of women as well as to students from those communities. The authors explore a full spectrum of present concerns in over seventy pieces that vary from writing by new talents to published pieces by Audre Lorde, Joy Harjo, Norma Alarcon and Trinh T. Minh-ha. "At one level or another, all the work in the collection seeks to find ways to understand and articulate our multiple identities and senses of place'."Making Face/Making Soul" is an exciting collection of dynamic, important writings that all women of color and white feminists will learn from, enjoy, and return to again and again and again."-"Sojourner" .,."the pieces are stunning in what they risk and reveal..."-"The San Francisco Chronicle"
Biographical overview, complete bibliography, journal articles, audio & video recordings, and recommended Web sites
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore (2000) by Rafaela G. Castro; Tamra AndrewsDictionary of Chicano Folklore charts the rich religious, social, artistic, and cultural heritage of Mexican Americans, who continue to evolve the customs and rituals connected to their Spanish and indigenous roots and the Spanish language. Entries cover specific regions, genres of folk speech, folk narrative, cultural traditions, artifacts, foods, ceremonies, rites, and define contemporary Hispanic terms ranging from duendes, pintos, and las posadas to pachucos, low riders, and Zozobra. The Dictionary of Chicano Folklore is the perfect resource for high school and undergraduate students interested in Chicano culture or for scholars seeking bibliographic material. Over 200 A-Z entries defining historical and contemporary terms, customs, legends, and rituals 44 photos Extensive bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Gloria Anzaldua from books and academic journals.
MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection
as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
See "Literature Criticism" for journal articles, "Reviews and News" for book reviews, and "Primary Sources" for interviews
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowA database of English-language literature, containing thousands of full-text works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as journals, author biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and reference resources.
Bridging : how Gloria Anzaldúa's life and work transformed our own (2011) by AnaLouise Keating (Editor); Gloria González-López (Editor); Gloria González-López (Editor)The inspirational writings of cultural theorist and social justice activist Gloria Anzaldúa have empowered generations of women and men throughout the world. Charting the multiplicity of Anzaldúa's impact within and beyond academic disciplines, community trenches, and international borders, Bridging presents more than thirty reflections on her work and her life, examining vibrant facets in surprising new ways and inviting readers to engage with these intimate, heartfelt contributions. Bridging is divided into five sections: The New Mestizas: "transitions and transformations"; Exposing the Wounds: "You gave me permission to fly in the dark"; Border Crossings: Inner Struggles, Outer Change; Bridging Theories: Intellectual Activism with/in Borders; and "Todas somos nos/otras": Toward a "politics of openness." Contributors, who include Norma Elia Cantú, Elisa Facio, Shelley Fisher Fishkin, Aída Hurtado, Andrea Lunsford, Denise Segura, Gloria Steinem, and Mohammad Tamdgidi, represent a broad range of generations, professions, academic disciplines, and national backgrounds. Critically engaging with Anzaldúa's theories and building on her work, they use virtual diaries, transformational theory, poetry, empirical research, autobiographical narrative, and other genres to creatively explore and boldly enact future directions for Anzaldúan studies. A book whose form and content reflect Anzaldúa's diverse audience, Bridging perpetuates Anzaldúa's spirit through groundbreaking praxis and visionary insights into culture, gender, sexuality, religion, aesthetics, and politics. This is a collection whose span is as broad and dazzling as Anzaldúa herself.
Call Number: Miller PS3551.N95 Z63 2011
Spiritual Mestizaje (2011) by Theresa DelgadilloGloria Anzaldúa's narrative and theoretical innovations, particularly her concept of mestiza consciousness, have influenced critical thinking about colonialism, gender, history, language, religion, sexuality, spirituality, and subjectivity. Yet Anzaldúa's theory of spiritual mestizaje has not been extensively studied until now. Taking up that task, Theresa Delgadillo reveals spiritual mestizaje as central to the queer feminist Chicana theorist's life and thought, and as a critical framework for interpreting contemporary Chicana literary and visual narratives. First mentioned by Anzaldúa in her pioneering book Borderlands/La Frontera, spiritual mestizaje is a transformative process of excavating bodily memory to develop a radical, sustained critique of oppression and renew one's relation to the sacred. Delgadillo analyzes the role of spiritual mestizaje in Anzaldúa's work and in relation to other forms of spirituality and theories of oppression. Illuminating the ways that contemporary Chicana narratives visualize, imagine, and enact Anzaldúa's theory and method of spiritual mestizaje, Delgadillo interprets novels, memoir, and documentaries. Her critical reading of literary and visual technologies demonstrates how Chicanas challenge normative categories of gender, sexuality, nation, and race by depicting alternative visions of spirituality.
Call Number: E-Book
Entre Mundos/Among Worlds (2006) by AnaLouise Keating (Editor)A multidisciplinary investigation of the concepts, impact, and writings of contemporary cultural theorist and creative writer, Gloria Anzaldua. Her work has challenged and expanded previous views in American Studies, composition studies, cultural studies, ethnic studies, feminism, literary studies, critical pedagogy, and queer theory.
Call Number: Miller PS3551.N95 Z66 2005
Women Reading Women Writing (1996) by Ann Louise KeatingAs self-identified lesbians of colour, Paula Gunn Allen, Gloria Anzaldua, and Audre Lorde negotiate diverse sets of personal and professional worlds. This book examines the ways in which these writers, in both their creative and critical work, engage in self-analysis and the construction of alternative myths and representations of women.
Backtalk (1993) by Donna PerryAgents or victims, liberated or oppressed, "bad girls" or "good girls." What do these labels mean and do they further or hinder women's progress? How are today's visions of female sexuality and power like or unlike those of the past? How do younger women define feminism? Isn't the personal still political? Dismayed by the media's tendency to reduce the feminist enterprise to labels and superstars, Donna Perry and Nan Bauer Maglin decided to find out what a diverse group of feminists think about women, sex, and power in the nineties. The result is a provocative and varied collection of twenty-four essays by second- and third-wave feminists; artists and activists; professors and graduate students; professional journalists and just-published writers; mothers and daughters. By focusing on society's construction, containment, and exploitation of female sexuality, in particular, these essays offer fresh perspectives on women's agency or lack of it. The contributors focus on the oversimplifications and false dichotomies in current discussions of female sexuality, as well as the privileged perspective and individualism that currently dominate the popularized feminist message. Individual writers--including Emma Amos, bell hooks, Ann Jones, Lisa Jones, Paula Kamen, Matuschka, Marge Piercy, Katha Pollitt, Anna Quindlen, Elayne Rapping, Lillian S. Robinson, and Ellen Willis--reexamine women's empowerment in the light of issues like AIDS, battering, acquaintance rape, narratives of childhood sexual abuse, and pornography. Several draw political conclusions from their personal struggles, while others read stories and texts--from history, the art world, the media, popular culture, and social science research--in new and controversial ways.
Call Number: Miller PS151 .B33 1993
Chicana ways : conversations with ten Chicana writers (2001) by Karin Rosa IkasDuring the past two decades, literary issues such as multiculturalism, gender, borders and border crossing, and the development of personal, cultural, and alternative identities have become increasingly important. The same years have seen the flourishing of writers from a number of ethnic minorities, including the Mexican-American women who are the subjects of these probing and insightful interviews by Karin Rosa Ikas. The interviews, which address such topics as personal background, education, sense of ethnic and gender identity, the origins and intention of published works, and general views on writing, culture, and art, reveal a rich multiplicity of Chicana voices and views. The writers come from Texas, New Mexico, and California; their connections to Mexico are as direct as having been born there and as tenuous as having descended from a family resident in New Mexico for more than four centuries. Their backgrounds reflect a wide range of socioeconomic realities, and their views on gender, sexuality, race, and writing are equally diverse. Yet to each of these writers, her identity as a Chicana and as a woman is critically important to her evolution and purpose as a writer. Chicana Ways will be essential reading for anyone interested in multicultural and feminist literature and will serve as compelling documentation of the rich diversity and brilliance of contemporary Mexican-American writing.
Call Number: Miller PS153.M4 C455 2001
Conversations with Contemporary Chicana and Chicano Writers (2007) by Hector A. TorresHector A. Torres conducted these interviews with today's popular Chicano/a writers, asking each about language and life between languages, about the creative drive that has guided them in their craft and commits them to their art. In sharing their responses, Torres reveals a brief biography of each author and a concise examination of their writings. Taking their stories and essays individually and collectively, Torres explains how each author reiterates issues that have concerned Mexican Americans since at least 1848. Chicano/a authors know that an abundance of politics can spoil a story, as can too little. The writers included here span historical terrain, first, under the shadow of Manifest Destiny and, then, under the America's imperial sovereignty stance. Interviewees include Rolando Hinojosa (""I Reflect the Way Valleyites Act and React""), Arturo Islas (""I Don't Like Labels and Categories""), Erlinda Gonzales-Berry (""On the New Mexican Borderlands""), Gloria Anzaldua (""The Author Never Existed""), Ana Castillo (two separate interviews), Sandra Cisneros (two separate interviews), Pat Mora (""I Was Always at Home in Language""), Richard Rodriguez (""I Don't Think I Exist""), Demetria Martinez (""To Speak as Global Citizens""), and Kathleen Alcala (""To Tell the Counternarratives"").