Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Museum Docents Library Basics: Journal Articles and Research Databases

Library resources to assist in the basic research of museum objects in the Colby College Museum of Art.

What is a "research database"

A research database is a search engine that allows you input search terms to locate quality journal articles and other scholarly materials on a particular topic.

Through the database you may then link to full text content if owned by the Colby Libraries, or to the art journal in print if owned by Colby. Some of the best journal articles in the art field are only in print, due to copyright issues pertaining to art reproductions. Use of these art research databases will allow you to locate articles in our excellent art journal collection

Research Databases and Journal Articles

Accessing Print Journals in Bixler Library

Some back issues of important art periodicals are in print-only format. Bound back issues of art periodicals must be requested from Library Storage. Please have your article citation with you and ask a desk assistant for help in retrieving print issues of our art periodicals.

Your Librarian

Fannie Ouyang's picture
Fannie Ouyang
Contact:
Bixler 136
(207) 859-5662
Subjects:Art
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next