It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ESSENTIAL. This comprehensive, online art encyclopedia is the best place to start your research on an artist or topic. It is a cross-searchable interface to the full text and new updates to The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996), The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998) and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Robin Lenman (Editor)
An excellent website. The CMP explores technology, techniques and history of photography, animation and stereography as found in UCR/CMP's permanent collections. Each topic includes historical information, projects, detailed descriptions of items from col
Located in the heart of New York City, the International Center of Photography (ICP) is a world-class museum and school dedicated to exploring the possibilities of the photographic medium through dynamic exhibitions and educational programs.
Unique in their scope and richness, the prints and photographs collections today number more than 13.7 million images documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people, using various photographic
A rich photography representing early photographic views of New York from Victor Prevost and digitized photos from the Byron Collection of more than 24,000 images chronicling New York life from 1892 through 1942. The collection is a major repository of the work of several noted photographers, including Jacob Riis, Jessie Tarbox Beals, Berenice Abbott, WPA photographers of the 1930s, and the LOOK magazine photo archives with photographs by Stanley Kubrick and Arthur Rothstein.