It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National BiographyThis link opens in a new windowA collection of biographies of thousands of Americans who shaped the nation's history, drawn from the 24-volume reference work of the same name published in 1999.
Credo General ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryThis link opens in a new windowAn online edition of the five-volume reference work covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present, with biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces addressing the cultural roots and current conditions of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of American Studies: EASElectronic encyclopedia, part of the Credo Reference online library. Useful for all aspects of American Studies, it includes illustrations and links items in the bibliographies to holdings at Colby, where available.
USE THIS AS AN ELECTRONIC INDEX TO ARTICLES IN THE PRINT VOLUME CALL # E 174 .O94 2001 Here is a volume that is as big and as varied as the nation it portrays. With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
AFI Catalog (American Film Institute)This link opens in a new windowThe American Film Institute's Film Indexes Online search tool provides access to records of all motion pictures produced in the United States from 1892 to the present day, including plot summaries, production notes, and subject and song indexes.
Alternative Press IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.
America History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowArticle abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
Art & Architecture SourceThis link opens in a new windowA database of full-text articles from journals covering all varieties of art, including fine arts, commercial arts, and architecture.
ATLA Religion DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowAn index of scholarly articles, reviews, and essays on religion and theology, primarily covering 1949 to the present.
Gender Studies DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a full spectrum of gender-related scholarship, with over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)This link opens in a new windowThe primary database for U.S.-Hispanic and Latin American topics, citing articles published in English and European languages from more than 400 scholarly journals worldwide.
Humanities International IndexThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic index of over 1,700 U.S. and international journals in the humanities, covering articles, essays, reviews, and creative work in poetry, fiction, and visual arts.
LGBT Life with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowIndex of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender literature emphasizing history, culture, social issues, interests, and concerns of the LGBT community, with materials including periodicals, books, conference proceedings, newspapers, dissertations and web documents, as well as an LGBT Thesaurus.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowThe Modern Language Association of America's database of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies covering scholarship on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, printing, publishing, rhetoric, and composition, with coverage from 1926 to the present.
PAIS IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA)This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIndexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations of book reviews as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage dates from 1952 to the present.