Skip to main content

SP 397: Home

Articles

Search databases for newspaper, magazine & journal articles:

  • MLA International Bibliography  for literary criticism

  • JSTOR
  • HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
  • ProQuest Newsstand (newspapers for the contemporary period)
  • Latin American Newspapers  (provides fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Dates of coverage: 1805 to 1922)
  • CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online  (research in international affairs from a variety of sources such as conference papers, foundation-funded research projects, policy briefs, working papers, books, and journals)
  • PAIS Index   (Public Affairs Information Service is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.)

Select databases by SUBJECT


Search online reference sources for background information and leads to sources:

 

  Web portals for news:

  Particular newspapers:

Background Research

               Archives of the Disappeared, from Creative Time Reports, 5/27/2014


Steps in Your Research

  • Look up background information -  Credo Reference; Companions, Handbooks, etc.
  • Use terminology and facts learned from background sources to search for articles in MLA International Bibliography and other databases at left
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in and how the type of publication (including websites) should influence the way you use the information.
  • Come and visit your librarian! 

Karen Gillum  kjgillum@colby.edu  Miller 107B


Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography  

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format
2
. Set search limits before you begin searching
3. Try using Names as Subjects and add terms from critical vocabulary, such as imagery, intertextual, etc.
4. Further refine your search by adding Subject.


 

Online Help with Citations

   Explore this resource! Scroll down in pages to find the paragraph that applies to your citation.

Formula for an article retrieved from a database on a Works Cited page:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal,  vol. #, no. #, year, pp. #-#.  {Name of Database. url or doi. Accessed [day month year].}


Cornell University libraries

Cómo Preparar una Bibliografía Anotada  - notice especially the section headed "El Proceso"

Primary Sources

Literature

Global

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next