Find Articles in Databases
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window Consists of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window A nonprofit project of the Latin American Institute, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). HAPI provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Our coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts of additional titles unavailable in full text. Coverage: 1990-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus monographs and other academic materials.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Bibliographical coverage of the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with article abstracts from over 2,000 journals -- covering 1954 to the present -- plus citations to books and dissertations
- America History and Life This link opens in a new window Article abstracts and some full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals from 1954 to the present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window A compilation of the American Anthropological Literature and the British Anthropological Index Online, providing indexing of journals in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies from the late 19th century to the present.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window An index of scholarly articles, reviews, and essays on religion and theology, primarily covering 1949 to the present.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Combines the broad journal coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty business resources. It includes industry reports, country reports, company data (annual reports, profiles, SWOTs), market research, and analyses.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window The American Economic Association's online bibliography of over 120 years of economics literature, including journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations. Subtopics include economic and monetary theory, labor economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window This database provides access to a full spectrum of gender-related scholarship, with over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Have an article citation from a bibliography? Search for the article in OneSearch.
Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Journals
Scholarly journals are particularly important in academic research.
- They contain original research by scholars in a specific discipline.
- Articles include in-text citations and references.
- Articles in peer-reviewed journals go through a rigorous vetting process.
Many databases have a box that will allow you to limit your results to articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.
Citation Trails are Scholarship as Conversation
Look for additional sources in an item's bibliography, notes, references or works cited page. This is a way to see the attitudes, ideas and evidence the writer is drawing from.
Google Scholar and some databases also allow you to go forward to find scholarship reacting to that work. Just enter the title in Google Scholar and look for the "Cited By" link.
OneSearch
OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. It can be an avalanche of material that doesn't allow you to easily see connections, conversations. Use only for very precise searches:
- Finding full text of a citation
- Finding material on a narrow, specialized topic or little written-about person
- Finding book chapters about a specific author or work
- Finding book reviews
Use limiters and drop-downs in Advanced Search to focus your search!
Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica by Ralph Kränzlein, 2015, via flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Portals & Country Profiles
- LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center Includes directories and guides to Internet-based resources in the field of Latin American studies.
- WWW Virtual Library of International Affairs: Latin America Includes events, country directories and website lists.
- EIU Country Reports Provides in-depth analysis of political and economic trends in over 200 countries.
- Statesman’s Yearbook Online Covers key historical events, population, social statistics, climate, current leaders, international relations, economy, trade, religion, culture, and more.
- CIA World Factbook Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
News & Current Events
Colby Libraries Current & Historical Newspaper Guide
http://libguides.colby.edu/newspapers-at-colby
This guide has links to contemporary, historical, international and domestic newspapers.
Or try these:
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window Daily reports from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, a department of the Central Intelligence Agency that monitored publicly viewable news from around the world. Coverage from 1941-1996.
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window News sources from the US, Canada, and the rest of the world, 1980 - the present. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Provides full-text.
- New York Times 1980 to Current This link opens in a new window Respected, major news publication that covers news from around the world.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) This link opens in a new window Directories and guides to Internet-based resources in Latin American studies.
- Latin American Intelligence Service Newsletters (LatinNews) This link opens in a new window News and commentary about economics and politics in Latin America.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text database of periodicals of the American ethnic and minority press, with works offering African-American, Arab-American, Asian-American, European-American, Latino, Jewish, and Native American perspectives.
- BBC News Latin America BBC News, a division of the British Broadcasting Corporation, covers global news and events.
- Center for Research Libraries Newspaper Collection Search here for national and international historical newspapers. Most will be on microfilm; you may borrow these from the Center through your ILLIad interlibrary loan account. An excellent source for more obscure sources.
DID YOU KNOW...?
Many websites and subscription databases allow you to create a newsfeed tailored to your specific country and/or interest area. If you need help with this, just let me know.
Searching Tips
- Keyword searches in most databases and catalogs only look for that exact combination of letters..
- Use an asterisk as a wild card to include word ending variations. E.g. Maya* (for Maya, Mayan, Mayans)
- Use quotes to glue a phrase together. E.g. "Latin America"
- Broaden your search by using OR with parentheses. Results can contain either term. E.g. (army OR military).
- Narrow your search by using AND. E.g. censorship AND media.
- Refine your search through search strings. E.g. censorship AND (media OR newspaper*)
- Click on a record's Subject Headings to find items grouped together by topic.
- Expand your reach, sign up for ILLiad, our Inter-library loan service.
- Order directly from within WorldCat by clicking on Request through ILLiad@Colby.
Related Guides
Find Books/Monographs
- CBBcat - Colby's Book Catalog Books, e-books, films, microfilm, etc. available at Colby, Bates and Bowdoin with further access to holdings at other Maine libraries.
- MaineCatIf not in CBBcat, check here. Books usually arrive in 2-5 business days.
- WorldCat An easy way to search for books and other materials not at Colby. Can click Request through ILLiad@Colby link to order. To sign up for ILLiad, our inter-library loan service, click on My Accounts on the library home page.
- Hathi TrustDigitized older books. Select Colby from drop-down menu to log in.
Reference
ONLINE
- Latin American History (Oxford Research Encyclopedia) This link opens in a new window "The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a comprehensive digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin America’s peoples and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Its essays make the region’s compelling past come alive by using the latest analyses, and by taking advantage of opportunities not available to traditional printed encyclopedias, such as incorporating sights and sounds, and offering links to original sources. It constitutes an inclusive, innovative, scholarly, and readable online resource for Latin American history available to everyone—scholars, researchers, students, teachers, and the public."
- The Cambridge History of Latin America Vol. 1-11 Large-scale history of the whole of Latin America - Mexico and Central America, the Spanish-speaking Caribbean (and Haiti), Spanish South America and Brazil, from the first contacts between the native peoples of the Americas and Europeans in the late-fifteenth and early-sixteenth centuries to the present day. An important feature of The Cambridge History of Latin America is the bibliographical essays which accompany each chapter. The essays from Volumes I–IX, revised and updated, are brought together in Volume X: Bibliography.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture This link opens in a new window Online edition of the reference work providing a multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistory to the present, with articles covering cultural issues and biographical profiles of important figures in art and politics.
PRINT VOLUMES
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History by
Essays ihat survey the recent historiography of the colonial era, independence movements, and postcolonial periods and span Mexico, Spanish South America, and Brazil.
Call Number: F1410 .O95 2011 Colby Miller Stacks 2nd Floor (S5)
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies by
Each entry defines the term in question, explains its usages, discusses its etymology and the intellectuals who have made relevant contributions, and provides a bibliography of essential sources.
Call Number: REF F1408.3 .D5513 2012 - Colby Miller Reference Room
Maps
Image from http://www.transitionsabroad.com
