Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Databases/ Reference
and explanations at Purdue's OWL site: Examples
Citations show the research path someone took to develop an idea, and they provide leads for other researchers to discover information in related resources
"When to cite?"
You need to cite when you directly quote someone else, and it's also important to cite when you refer to another person's ideas or when you outline someone else's argument or line of reasoning.
Terraferma - Emanuele Crialese
Books on Film
Subject Areas in CBBcat can help find books about your research. Here are some Subject Headings that you may find useful:
Motion Pictures -- Italy
Motion Pictures Italy History
To find books ABOUT a particular filmmaker:
Select a SUBJECT search and enter your filmmaker's name, last name first.
To find books containing criticism of a filmmaker's work:
Add the keywords CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION to your search.
To find on your filmmaker: biographical writing
Add the keyword BIOGRAPHY to your search.
A Fistful of Dollars - Sergio Leone
The Great Beauty - Paolo Sorrentino
Think Strategically about Your Research
Looking up background information first can save you time later - use Credo Reference
Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in Screen Studies Collection , Academic Search Complete , and other databases at left
Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
Think about what sorts of publications and media the information you want might be published in
... and don't hesitate to come and ask me any questions you have! kjgillum @colby.edu Karen Gillum Miller 107B
Also available: Laine Thielstrom, who is librarian for the Cinema Studies Department
Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings: femin* = feminist, feminism, etc.
Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase: "gender roles"
Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms: (refugee OR migrant)
REFINE YOUR SEARCH
Use the various limiting parameters in sidebars of databases to narrow your search appropriately
Skim the terminology in entries for new keywords and synonyms to use in repeating your search
EXPAND YOUR SEARCH
On the EBSCO platform, click on the Choose Databases link near the top of the screen to add another subject database to your field of search
Researching a Film
Want to watch a film? Or find a book on Italian cinema?
How To : Requesting Books Through CBBcat
To search for a specific film:
Use CBBcat drop down options: Title & Video/DVD/Streaming.
To browse subjects:
Use CBBcat drop down options: Subject & Video/DVD/Streaming.
Or do a Keyword search & explore subject headings or genres by clicking on those links in item records.
To find early films not in CBB:
To find articles about a film:
Want to identify films about particular subjects?
In Screen Studies Collection Advanced Search, use “Look up Subject Headings” to explore possibilities (e.g,.immigration).
Want to get reliable information about a film (cast, credits, citations to articles)? Search the film title in Screen Studies Collection.
Want to identify films by genre? In AFI Catalog Advanced Search, select your choice in the “Genre” box (e.g. Film Noir).
Want to get an overview of or find additional sources about a film or film-related topic? Search for your film or topic in Oxford Bibliographies - Cinema Studies.
Want to find film criticism and scholarly articles about a film?
Search these databases or one of the others listed in the Useful Databases box on this page.
Or explore more databases and film-related journals in the Find Articles tab.
Searching for Reviews
When searching for reviews use both the name of the film and the word review.
Example: "La Dolce Vita" AND review
Put multi-word titles in quotes.
Example: "Swept Away"
For titles that are also books or plays, add the word film or movie, or the director's name, to your keyword string.
Example: L'Inferno AND review AND (film OR movie OR "motion pictures")
DATABASES or PUBLICATIONS THAT INCLUDE FILM REVIEWS:
Colby College Logo
Colby College on Facebook
Colby College on YouTube
Colby College on Vimeo