Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN411 Shakespeare on Screen: Poster Project

Much Ado About Nothing  by Lynn Friedman (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0) Flickr

Databases

Use databases to find critical analysis or contextual information.

The Performing Arts Periodicals Database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present. Folger Shakespeare Library

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies includes a “Shakespeare on Film” guide (under the letter S), which includes a variety of sources (anthologies, articles, monographs and scripts) and an index by play title.

AFI Catalog  -  The American Film Institute's Film Indexes Online search tool provides access to records of all motion pictures produced in the United States from 1892 to the present day, including plot summaries, production notes, and subject and song indexes.

Film Index International (British Film Institute) is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent films

One can also search film journals directly.  See the Cinema Studies: Journals and Magazines webpage. More databases are listed on the home page of the Cinema Studies Guide.

Folger Library Stamp (CC by 2.0) Flickr

Finding & Using Images

SOURCES FOR POSTER IMAGES

COPYRIGHT - USING PHOTOS LEGALLY

Most of the images found via these sources are protected by copyright. Limiting access of an educational project to course participants can be a strong factor allowing the use of copyrighted images under Fair Use law. However, if you use copyrighted images and expand access to your project, especially on the open web, you could then be in violation of copyright law. Many companies use copyright bots to discover such infringements. Questions? Contact me.

Alternatives? Use:

  • Images in the public domain
  • Images that have a Creative Commons license applicable to your use. Other sites with CC images:
  • Flickr (Be sure and use drop-down under Any License to limit to Creative Commons licensed images. However, be wary of images that appear to be photographs of copyrighted works.)
  • Wikimedia Commons
  • Images where the circumstances of your use meets copyright law's Fair Use Guidelines

CITE YOUR PHOTOS

You must give attribution. I use an abbreviated format for the photos in this guide. For this course, your instructor require the use of the MLA Citation Style.

Books for Reference or Contextual Information

Burnett,  Shakespeare and World Cinema    E-book    9781107003316    2013

The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Screen E-book    9781108421164     2020

Burnett, Hamlet” and World Cinema    E-book    9781107135505     2019

The Routledge Handbook of Shakespeare and Global Appropriation Bowdoin    9781138050198     2020

To find other books, try a CBBcat keyword search.

Or search by this subject heading, changing the first drop-down menu to Subject.  

Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616  Film adaptations

Sources for DVDs or Streaming

Use the Films & Videos at Colby Library Guide to:

  • Find DVDs using CBBcat
  • Check MaineCat for DVDs
  • Identify Colby streaming options
  • Find films not available through Colby…
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next