Skip to main content

WP courses: Home

GO TO & HOW TO

CBBcat:  search for books in the catalogs for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin 

OneSearch: expand your search to include articles  

 WorldCat:  extend your search to libraries worldwide 

Directions on signing up for ILL

►For a list of Colby's databases, Click here


►For 1-minute Videos on how to search CBBcat, WorldCat, and databases, how to submit ILL requests, and more ... Click here

Searching Tricks

KEYWORD SEARCHING

  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings:  gene*  = genes, genetic, etc.
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase:  "reproductive rights" 
  • Use parentheses & OR to search synonyms:  (death OR dying)

SUBJECT SEARCHING

Find a good book or article in a Keyword search? Look at its item record to see if there are Subject Terms. Click on these links to find other items about that subject.

CITATION TRAILS

Check the notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. One good source can lead to another!

Getting the Books

For books in Miller:

Look for the stacks plan beside the stairs.

For books at Bates, Bowdoin, or in Colby Storage:

Click on the CBB Request button in the record for the book you want. Then fill in your name and the barcode number (no letters) on the back of your Colby ID card.

 

To request books from WorldCatSign up for ILLiad

CITATION MANAGERS

Librarians

  Librarian
African-American Studies Marilyn R. Pukkila
American Studies Marilyn R. Pukkila
Anthropology Marilyn R. Pukkila
Archives and Special Collections Pat Burdick
Art Margaret Ericson
Biology Kara Kugelmeyer
Chemistry Kara Kugelmeyer
Cinema Studies Laine Thielstrom
Classics Karen Gillum
Computer Science Kara Kugelmeyer
Creative Writing Laine Thielstrom
East Asian Studies Karen Gillum
Economics Lisa McDaniels
Education Marilyn R. Pukkila
English Karen Gillum
Environmental Studies Kara Kugelmeyer
French Karen Gillum
Geology Kara Kugelmeyer
German Karen Gillum
GIS Kara Kugelmeyer
Global Studies Laine Thielstrom
Government Lisa McDaniels
History Marilyn R. Pukkila
Italian Karen Gillum
Jewish Studies Marilyn R. Pukkila
Latin American Studies Laine Thielstrom
Law Laine Thielstrom
Mathematics and Statistics Kara Kugelmeyer
Music Margaret Ericson
Philosophy Karen Gillum
Physics and Astronomy Kara Kugelmeyer
Psychology Marilyn R. Pukkila
Religious Studies Marilyn R. Pukkila
Russian Karen Gillum
Science, Technology, and Society Kara Kugelmeyer
Sociology Marilyn R. Pukkila
Spanish Karen Gillum
Theater and Dance Margaret Ericson
Women’s Studies Marilyn R. Pukkila
 

Citations and Annotated Bibliography

Use MLA style to create citations in the humanities

The purpose of citations

  • to show the research path someone took to develop an idea
  • to provide leads for other researchers 

You need to cite when...

  • you directly quote someone else
  • you refer to another person's ideas 
  • you outline someone else's argument  

EXAMPLE of MLA Style on a Works Cited Page for an article retrieved from a database:

             Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction 47.3 (2006): 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 17 January 2013.

Thus the pattern is:

              Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume #.issue # (year): page numbers. Name of database. Web. Date of access [day month year].

 

MORE EXAMPLES and explanations at Purdue's OWL site:   

         In-Text Citation Formatting


 

Annotated Bibliography

In general, the purpose of annotations is to inform a researcher consulting the bibliography on various aspects of the cited title. Some general directions are below; make sure also to consult directions for your class!

Sample Annotated Bibliography (MLA) Diana Hacker

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography Cornell Creating Annotated BibliographyU. Library