>>Researching Terrorism - homepage
Some sources for information on 9/11...
- New York Times Topic page for September 11, 2001
- New York Times: Portraits of Grief
Three days after the Sept. 11 attacks, reporters at The New York Times, armed with stacks of homemade missing-persons fliers, began interviewing friends and relatives of the missing and writing brief portraits of their lives to create “Portraits of Grief.” Not meant to be obituaries in any traditional sense, they were informal and impressionistic, often centered on a single story or idiosyncratic detail. This archive features the original portraits.
- Washington Post: Remembering September 11
- September 11 Digital Archive
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images.
- Voices of September 11th
VOICES of September 11th provides information, support services and annual commemorative events for 9/11 families, rescue workers and survivors; commemorates the lives and stories of September 11th; promotes public policy reform on prevention, preparedness and response to terrorism, building bridges between international communities changed by terrorism.
- Excellent Wikipedia article
- National 9/11 Memorial Web site
The National September 11 Memorial is a tribute of remembrance and honor to the nearly 3,000 people killed in the terror attacks of September 11, 2001 at the World Trade Center site, near Shanksville, Pa., and at the Pentagon, as well as the six people killed in the World Trade Center bombing in February 1993. The Memorial will be dedicated on September 11, 2011 on the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks in a ceremony for victims' families. The following day, it will open to the public.
- StroyCorps: September 11 stories
StoryCorps is an independent nonprofit whose mission is to provide Americans of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives. Since 2003, StoryCorps has collected and archived more than 30,000 interviews from more than 60,000 participants. Each conversation is recorded on a free CD to share, and is preserved at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.
- Understanding 9/11: A Television News Archive
The 9/11 Television News Archive is a library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. A resource for scholars, journalists, and the public, it presents one week of news broadcasts for study, research and analysis.
- 9/11 on the front page: a Newseum Archive
Front page news coverage of teh 9/11 attacks from newspapers around the world
- September 11th 2001: A Ten Year Commemoration of Art, Music and Arts Commentary, on display in the Bixler Art and Music Library, Colby College.
Margaret Ericson, Art and Music Librarian, Colby College Libraries