Skip to main content

SP131: SP131

Some Leads for Finding News, Articles, Blogs and Video

Architecture of Antoni Gaudi in Barcelona, Spain

News

  Web portals for news:

  Particular newspapers:

US News in Spanish:

   Many more...

 

News with video:

  Blogs:

  Magazines:

 

 

 

 

 

Colby Library Resources

Reference Sources 

  • Online reference sources can provide background information and leads to sources:
  • Use terminology and facts learned from background sources to search for articles, blogs, videos
  • Notes and links and personal names can give leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you're looking for might be published in - a newspaper? a magazine or a blog? a website maintained by a government or NGO?

 


Dictionary & Grammar Online


Databases

 

Search in library databases for separate articles from newspapers, magazines & journals:

  • Academic Search Complete  (Select Espanol under Languages in the top bar, right)
  • ProQuest Newsstand (newspapers for the contemporary period)
  • Latin American Newspapers  (fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Dates of coverage: 1805 to 1922)

Books to Read

 

                   Under what general principles are these books arranged?

 

       

                                        Librarian for Spanish

                                         

                                       Karen Gillum 

                                       kjgillum@colby.edu                                    


Sources for Images

 

ARTStor - note that after you ENTER the database, you can BROWSE geographically and choose a country from the list.  Under Spain, you can then select Architecture or Drawings, Illuminated Manuscripts, Gardens, or Paintings, among others. You can also Search by Artists, such as Velasquez, Goya, or Picasso.

Bridgeman Education - search for an artist or just for Spain / Spanish / Mexican, etc. This database contains many historical portraits, photographs, posters, and advertisements

Audio-Video

For Video:

Search YouTube or Vimeo in Spanish - using Spanish search terms or searching with the phrase "en espanol" - and add "menos de dos minutos" to look for short clips

A couple of examples:

Refugiados en su tierra (2013) - Trailer from RefugiadosFilm on Vimeo

 

For Audio:

 Radio Ambulante

Cadena Ser - full of audio articles

Radio Programas del Peru -  Radio en Vivo

       Search with Google for more stations using terms: radio espanol

 

Websites