Skip to main content

Skowhegan School Lecture Archive: Using the Archive

The Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture Lecture Archive is comprised of over 600 audio lectures and transcripts representing the ideas of the finest visual artists, poets, architects, philosophers, curators, and performing artists of our time.


Using the Archive in Bixler Art and Music Library

Left: Jacob Lawrence, 1972
Right: Poor Studio (now Simon Life Studio), 1952; left window: Henry Varnum Poor and Jack Levine; right window: Sidney Simon; seated: Willard Cummings and unidentified woman

Using the Skowhegan Lecture Archive

To request materials, come to the front desk at the Bixler Art and Music Library, and present an ID. Headphones will be provided for listening to the lecture CDs in the Bixler Library Media Lab. Transcripts are available for most of the lectures, upon request. Contact Margaret Ericson, Arts Librarian, to obtain a paper transcript prior to your visit to Bixler Library.

Use of the archive is subject to the following restrictions:

  • Materials are available for use within the library only.
  • Materials cannot be loaned to other libraries.
  • Lectures or excerpts cannot be published, reproduced or used in derivative works without the permission of the applicable lecturer or lectures
  • Transcripts are read-only and are only available at Colby.
  • Transcripts are provided as a research aid and are not intended as official reproductions of the audio content

Library and Museum Partnership

The Colby College Libraries 

....... in partnership with the Colby College Museum of Art, have made a copy of the Skowhegan Lecture Archive available to researchers in the Bixler Art and Music Library. All materials in the archive are fully cataloged and searchable in the libraries’ online catalog. The catalog entries include a summary of the audio lecture, with subject and author links to related materials held in the extensive arts collections of the Bixler Art and Music Library. Contact Margaret Ericson, Arts Librarian, for more information.

For more information, contact the Arts Librarian

Margaret Ericson's picture
Margaret Ericson
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
Spring 2018 office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m., Thursday 10 a.m.-noon.
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next