Skip to main content

Research Help: RESEARCH HELP

RESEARCH GUIDES

online market research
 
 

Subject research guides with useful resources have been developed by SRS librarians to help get you started or to continue your research. See a list of all of our guides.

HELP WITH SEARCHING DATABASES

  is one of our multidisciplinary databases that covers all subjects.  If you want to learn more about searching it, there are videos that you can watch:

CHANGES TO EBSCO DATABASES

(July 2013) Coming soon:

Boolean Operator Changes

We will be introducing a change to query processing so that AND, OR and NOT are only interpreted as Boolean operators if they are in UPPERCASE. The objective is to enable the search engine to handle unintended Boolean operators literally so book titles and phrases don't fail or return poor results. Examples of phrases and book titles with unintended Booleans:

  • And then there were none
  • And so it goes
  • To be or not to be

This applies to databases such as Academic Search Premier, EconLit, MLA International Bibliography.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SOFTWARE MANAGERS

Software applications that help to organize your research. Collect citations, store PDFs, create bibliographies in selected formats, and more.

STUDENT RESEARCH ASSISTANT CARDS

Research Assistant cards allow students who are working for faculty, to request and sign out library materials in the course of their work under the auspices of the faculty member’s name. The faculty member is ultimately responsible for all materials signed out under this card.

Applications are available at the Miller Circulation Desk or may be downloaded here.

More detailed information can be found on our Policies page.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next