Skip to main content

Music: RISM

Music resources at Colby and other great web resources for music research.

What is RISM

RISM: Article in Grove Music Online

RISM : Repertoire internationale des sources musicales

International inventory of musical sources.

Established in 1952, RISM is an ongoing inventory of the universe of musical literature created prior to 1800.

  • pre-19th century books on music

  • manuscript treatises on music

  • theoretical writings from a variety of sources on music

  • printed music

  • printed music collections

  • music in manuscipt form.

Citations include a complete description of the material, and the library/archival location at which these unique resource materials can be found.

RISM is currently administered as a joint production of the RISM Zentralredaktion at Frankfurt/Main, Germany, and the U.S. RISM Office at Harvard University, Cambridge, MA.

RISM: International International Inventory of Musical Sources

These are the resources to date.

RISM ONLINE

  • The RISM Online Catalog contains entries for manuscripts (166-1850), printed music by single composers (1600-1800) and printed music collections (1500-1550, thus far), libretti, and treatises. The online catalog contains all of series A/I, A/II, and years 1500-1550 of B/I.

RISM: Series A

RISM: Series B

  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.1
    Recueils imprimés XVIe-XVIIe siecles = Music collections published 1500-1701.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.2
    Recueils imprimés XVIIIe siecle = Music collections published 1701-1800.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.3, parts 1-5
    Theory of Music from the Carolingian Era up to 1400.
  • Pt. 1: Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Denmark France, Luxembourg, Netherlands
  • Pt. 2: Italy
  • Pt. 3: up to 1500 in Germany
  • Pt. 4: Great Britain and the U.S.
  • Pt. 5: Czech Republic, Poland, Portugal and Spain
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.4, parts 1-2 and supplement
    Manuscripts of Polyphonic Music, 11th-early 14th century.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.4, parts 3-4
    Handschriften mit mehrstimmiger Musik des 14., 15. und 16. Jahrhunderts = 14th - 16th Century Music Manuscripts Located Throughout Europe.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.4, part 5
    Manuscrits de musique polyphonique: XVe et XVIe siecles, Italie: Catalogue.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113.I6 Ser. B, v.5, part 1
    Tropen- und Sequenzen-handschriften = Manuscripts of Tropes and Sequences.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.6, parts 1-2
    Ecrits imprimés concernant la musique = Comprehensive Bibliography of Writings on Music Printed Before 1800.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113 .I6 Ser. B, v.7
    Handscriftlich überlieferte Lauten- und Gitarrentabulaturen des 15. bis 18. Jahrhunderts = Descriptive Catalog of Pre-1820 Manuscript Music for Lute, Guitar and other Plectoral Instruments.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.8
    Das Deutsche Kirchenlied: kritische Gesamtausgabe der Melodien = German Hymns: Complete Catalog of Melodies.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.9, part 1
    Hebrew Notated Manuscript Sources up to circa 1840: A Descriptive and Thematic Catalogue.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.9, part 2
    Hebrew Writings Concerning Music in Manuscripts and Printed Books from Geonic Times up to 1800.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.10
    The Theory of Music in Arabic Writings (c. 900-1900): Descriptive Catalogue of Manuscripts in Libraries of Europe and the USA.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.11
    Ancient Greek Music Theory: A Catalogue Raisonne of Manuscripts.
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.12
    Manuscrits persans concernant la musique: catalogue
  •  
  • BIXLER REF ML113. I6 Ser. B, v.14, pt.1
    Les Manuscrits du Processionnal

RISM Directory of Libraries and Library Sigla

Your Librarian

Margaret Ericson's picture
Margaret Ericson
Contact:
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
Sabbatical, August 1, 2018 - January 31, 2019.
margaret.ericson@colby.edu.
207-859-5662
Website
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next