Skip to main content

EN 297: Home

http://www.pbs.org/latino-americans/media/images/hm-aside-yourvids.jpg

 

General Reference

Reference sources can provide definitions, terminology, facts, background information, context, biographies, interpretations, and bibliographies.

Cuban countryside

Articles on Literature

For analysis of literary work, use MLA !

For reviews and popular opinion, look in Academic Search Complete.

For scholarly discussions in all Humanistic disciplines, try JSTOR

Market

Aranitas tostones

 

Geographies of Home: Latin@ Literature in the 20th and 21st Centuries, EN 297

Contact me at any time!

Karen Gillum      kjgillum@colby.edu

 Humanities librarian

Along the Martin Peña Channel, Puerto Rico (1973)

Research Steps

Steps in Your Research

  • As you Read your initial text, consider what information would put the writing in context and give you a fuller understanding of it.
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in
  • Look up background information in the reference materials, e.g., Credo Reference, encyclopedias, atlases and histories, etc.
  • Use terminology and facts learned from background sources to search for articles in (historical) newspapers and periodical databases. 
  • Search for books (memoirs, collections of letters, biographies, diaries, special histories)  in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • After you identify subject terms, combine them into a keyword search -- e.g., "sex role" and Hispanic to search for books on gender roles in Latin@ literature and culture in CBBcat. In MLA, try sex roles or gender roles AND hispanic.
  • Always pay attention to vocabulary in records as you try a variety of approaches.
  • Ask your librarian!  kjgillum@colby.edu  

REQUESTING CBB BOOKS

Record for a Book in CBBcat

Click where the arrow points to request. Fill in only the numerals of the barcode on the back of your Colby ID.

Citations and Annotated Bibliography

OWL logo

MLA style for citations 

The purpose of citations

  • to show the research path followed             
  •  to provide leads for other researchers 

You need to cite when...

  • you directly quote someone else
  • you refer to another person's ideas 
  • you outline someone else's argument  

 EXAMPLE of MLA Style 

         on a Works Cited Page for an article retrieved from a database:

             Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction, vol. 47, no. 3, 2006, pp. 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Accessed 17 January 2013.

Thus the pattern is:

              Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, year, page numbers. Name of database. [doi or url. Date of access (day month year).]

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next