Skip to main content

LA 373 History of Religion and Unbelief in Latin America: Key Resources

Finding Articles in Databases

Pyramid of Kukulkan

Latin American Databases

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodical Index
The primary database for U.S.-Hispanic and Latin American topics. HAPI cites articles published in English and European languages from more than 400 scholarly journals worldwide, from 1970 to the present.

HLAS - Handbook of Latin American Studies Online
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete
Good general database for basic level scholarly journals, news stories, and book reviews.

JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, however coverage for some journals may not include the most recent issues.

Subject Databases

Anthropology Plus
Excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of Anthro Lit (Harvard) and Anthro Index (Royal Anthropological Institute, U.K.)

ATLA Religion Database
The premier index in the discipline. International religious and theological literature produced by the American Theological Library Association. Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues, from 1949 to the present.

Historical Abstracts
History of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Included are article abstracts from over 2,000 journals published worldwide, plus citations to books and dissertations. Coverage from 1954 to present.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers economic, political and social issues on the local, regional, national, and international level.

Sociological Abstracts
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 to the present.

Photo: The Pyramid of Kukulkan, a Mayan snake deity, at the archaeological zone of Chichen Itza in Yucatan, Mexico on April 8, 2011.

Primary Sources

Sabin Americana Digital Archive
Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

Latin American Newspapers
Online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922

Latin American Regional Reports
LatinNews was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English

Other Resources

Dictionary of the Social Sciences /edited by Craig Calhoun
Colby Miller Reference, Restored Reading Room: REF H41 .D53 2002
A comprehensive reference work with over 1700 entries ranging from fifty to five hundred words covering topics such as anthropology, sociology, economics, political science, cultural studies, human and cultural geography, and Marxism.

LANIC – Religion & Theology
Latin American Network Information Center - includes directories and guides to Internet-based resources.

Hispanic Reading Room
Information on Library of Congress collections pertaining to Latin America, Iberia and the Caribbean.

Religion in Latin America Guide - Resources (Univ. of Texas, Austin)
Provides information, research, discussion, and analysis of religion in Latin America.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed.
Essential coverage of all aspects of religion.

The Cambridge History of Latin America Online
also: Miller Library Stacks F1410 .C1834 1984

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Latin American Public Opinion Project
Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey, which currently covers 26 nations including all of North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.

Photo: Celebration of Inti Raymi in CuzcoHuacaypata, 2005

 

Finding Books

Search the CBB Collections:

in:


Advanced Search

Other Catalogs:

Research Hints

 Materials not available at Colby or our partner institutions can often be obtained through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.

For even more resources, check out these Colby Library Guides:

Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
Email: esthiels@colby.edu
Phone: (207) 859-5140
Office: Miller 107A

I'm available for individual or group research consultations. Just email me your best dates/times.

Or drop by during my office hours.
Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm