Skip to main content

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES: Politics & Government

This guide contains resources and links related to South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Latino(a) communities in the U.S.

Find Scholarly Articles

Databases contain citations to a variety of materials - articles (journal, newspapers, magazines), working papers, books, dissertations, etc.

To find Journal Articles in databases, look for options to limit or refine your search to scholarly/academic articles or journals.

Peer-Reviewed Articles are the gold standard of scholarly research. Many databases allow you to limit your results to these types of articles.

Narrowing results by Date Range  is another way to refine a search. Some databases offer a slider tool:

Look at Subjects or Author-Supplied Keywords in item records. Use these terms & links to help you better focus your search.

Experiment with search terms and combination of terms. This can make a huge difference in your results.

Check References and Bibliographies in relevant articles to find more articles!

Search multiple databases to get the best results. Different databases have different collections of material.

Grey Literature

Grey Literature is material that has NOT been published by commercial publishers. This includes working papers, reports, policy briefs, blogs and dissertations.

Grey literature can have the advantages of immediacy and/or divergent points of view, however, all grey literature should be very carefully scrutinized and evaluated.

NGOs

NGOs, non-governmental organizations, are often created to address specific issues or give a voice to particular groups of people.

News & Current Events

Argentine Governors 2001

Gildo Insfran, Carlos Reutemann, Adolfo Rodríguez Saá, Néstor Kirchner, and other Argentine governors in a crisis meeting headed by Presidential Chief of Staff Chrystian Colombo (25 July 2001). By Marianopaez31 via Wikimedia Commons.

Finding Books

in:

Advanced Search

In addition to keywords, try searching by SUBJECT:

Change 1st drop-down to "Subject" and try one of these official Library of Congress subject headings. (Also try substituting country names for Latin America.)

Social Movements - Latin America

Political Activists - Latin America

Pressure Groups - Latin America

Civil Society - Latin America

Group Identity - Latin America

Non Governmental Organizations - Latin America

Neoliberalism

Brazil -- Politics and Government

You can find more subject headings by scrolling down in CBBcat item records.

Can't find what you're looking for in CBBcat?

MaineCat - provides access to library collections across Maine.  A single search scans more than 3 million unique titles and nearly 8 million items. (3-5 day delivery)

WorldCat - Materials can be ordered through ILLiad

Background Information

Polls & Public Opinion

Latin American Public Opinion Project
Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey, which currently covers 26 nations including all of North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.

Latinobarómetro
An annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants.

Citation Management

Collect citations, store PDFs, create bibliographies and more!

Latin American Studies Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Please don't hesitate to come to me for assistance or questions!
Email me your best dates/times to meet or stop by my office, Miller Library 107C.

Fall 2018 Office Hours:
Mondays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 9-10:30am
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next