Skip to main content

IT 262A: Home

Catalogs to Search

Search the catalogs for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin with CBBcat

Expand your search to include articles by using OneSearch

Extend your search to libraries worldwide with WorldCat     (Directions on signing up for ILL)


Karen Gillum
Humanities Research Librarian

Profile Image  

Email me about appointments, questions, problems:
kjgillum@colby.edu

Sample Books in the CBB Catalogs

Italo Calvino and the landscape of childhood
Author: Nocentini, Claudia

Published Leeds : Northern Universities Press, 2000
Bowdoin Main Libr | Call No. PQ4809.A45 Z789 2000 

Although never named as such, the landscape of Sanremo was a constant visual source for Calvino's fiction. In its recognizable pattern of sea-city-hills, it appears in sixteen works written over a period of thirty two years. Italo Calvino and the Landscape of Childhood is an analysis of the criteria of representative (and of representational distortion) of a descriptive motif (...read more)

 


Thomas Uwins ‘Le Chapeau de Brigand’, 1839, exhibited 1839

Le Chapeau de Brigand 1839, Thomas Uwins (exhibited 1839)  At the Tate.

Female identity and the female body in Italian women's writings : 1900--1955 (Sibilla Aleramo, Enif Robert, Paola Masino and Alba de Céspedes)
Author: Rorandelli, Tristana
Publication Info. Ann Arbor, MI : ProQuest LLC, 2007
Colby Miller Stacks | Call No. PQ4055.W6 R67 2007

Getting Started

    Italian Brigands Surprised by Papal Troops, Horace Vernet, 1831, at the Walters Museum
 


 

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later - use Dictionary of Literary Biography and Credo Reference
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in MLA International Bibliography and other databases listed in the box on the left
  • Search for books in any of the catalogs Colby has access to, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

 

Some useful links:

  • WESS Italian Studies Wiki  The Italian Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Italian Studies.  The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process.  Specific topics include Italian cinema, history, literature, and politics and government. 
  • Harvard University Italian Studies Web Site  Lists of links for language, texts, conferences, travel, popular culture, organization, and more.

 

Background information on Authors:


 

Library of Congress subject headings:

CITING SOURCES

Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format.

2. Set search limits before you begin searching so that ALL your results are from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals or books.

3. Use the "Names as Subjects" function to isolate a set of articles about the author you are working on; then refine your search by adding Subject Terms.

4. NEVER GIVE UP! Almost every article will be available to you either online, on mcrofilm, in print, or through Interlibrary Loan.


 

Example of MLA Style on a Works Cited page for an article retrieved from a database:

Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction 47.3 (2006): 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 17 January 2013.

thus the formula is:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal  volume #. issue # (year): page numbers. Name of Database. Web. Date

of access [day month year].

More Examples and explanations at Purdue's OWL site:

"Why cite?"

Citations show the research path someone took to develop an idea, and they provide leads for other researchers to discover information in related resources.

"When to cite?"

You need to cite when you directly quote someone else, and it's also important to cite when you refer to another person's ideas or when you outline someone else's argument or line of reasoning.