Skip to main content

1940s Hollywood Films: Resources

AM 334 Spring 2015

FINDING BOOKS

2nd tab down: Books & More
SEARCH the Entire CBB Collection, or just Colby.
  in: 

Other Catalogs:

Materials not available at Colby or our partner institutions can often be obtained through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.

HOLLYWOOD FILMS OF THE 1940S

Photo: Lobby card (Internet Archive)    DVD PN1995.9.F54 M87 2004 Colby Miller DVDs

BACKGROUND INFORMATION / REFERENCE

A scholarly encyclopedia:

Credo  REFERENCE

SEARCHING TIPS

KEYWORD SEARCH

  • Experiment with synonyms and related terms.
  • Use an asterisk to stand in for letter variations.    movie*  = movie, movies
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase.   "motion pictures"
  • If you need to indicate that your search is film related, use synonyms in parentheses separated by OR to cover multiple terms.

("motion picture" OR "motion pictures" OR film* OR movie*)

SUBJECT SEARCH

Find one good item? Look at its item record to see if there are Subject Headings or Descriptors. These links group similar materials together and can yield more efficient searching. Different databases, however, can use different terms.

SAMPLE SUBJECT HEADINGS IN CBBCAT

  • World War, 1939-1945 -- Motion pictures and the war
  • Nineteen forties
  • Melodrama in motion pictures
  • Women in motion pictures
  • Masculinity in motion pictures
  • Film noir -- United States

Significant people involved in making a film (directors, actors, writers) can also be Subject Headings (last name, first name).

SAMPLE PERSON SEARCH

Keyword search: "Howard Hawks" or "Hawks, Howard"
Finds all records with these exact word combinations. Results can be very broad.

Subject search: Hawks, Howard (last name, first name)
Finds items about Howard Hawks and his works.

Author search: Hawks, Howard (last name, first name)
Finds items by Howard Hawks (or works he helped create)

CITATION TRACKING

Using bibliographies can be a great way to find material. One great book or article can lead to similiar items. Always check the bibliography at the end of every useful item. Look up promising citations in OneSearch to see if Colby has the item. If we don't, look for the link to order from ILLiad, Colby's inter-library loan service. It's free and easy.

ORDERING BOOKS

To order books from the Colby Storage Facility, Bates or Bowdoin:

Click on  
at top of the item record.

Enter your name and bar code number (omit beginning and ending letters) from your Student ID or Library Card.

You will be notified by email when your request arrives.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Find scholarly articles about 1940s films in these databases:

You can often check a box that limits your search to peer-reviewed or academic journals.

Scholarly/Academic Journals

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Please don't hesitate to come to me for assistance or questions!
Email me your best dates/times to meet or stop by my office, Miller Library 107C.

Fall 2018 Office Hours:
Mondays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 9-10:30am

Library Session Feedback

Please take our survey. Feedback helps us improve our teaching and services.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/PFVX8M9

Thank you!!!

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next