African American StudiesAfrican StudiesAmerican HistoryClassicsEast Asian StudiesGovernment & PoliticsLatin American StudiesScience, Technology & Society
Cold War HI 447
This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Colby College
the Libraries
  • Miller Library
  • Art and Music Library
  • Science Library
  • Special Collections
  • myColby
  • Directories

History  

Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.colby.edu/hi Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Make an Appointment!

I'm more than happy to work with you one-on-one to help you make your research the best it can be!  Please e-mail me for an appointment, and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.

 

Background Materials

American National Biography Online
The format of articles in the American National Biography is based on chronology. A given article traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Childhood and education are, as a rule, briefly discussed at the outset; then the course of the subject's career is mapped out, with the emphasis on the key achievements and the essential details of private life.

Cambridge Histories Online
This historical reference compendium allows instant access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series.  Histories include American, British, European, Asian, Latin American, African countries, as well as specialized topics such as food, literature, economics, science, etc.  Ancient to modern periods are represented.

Credo General Reference
An e-compilation of hundreds of reference texts.  Excellent starting point for topics.

Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.

Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
Biographical information of UK luminaries from the earliest times.  Biographies lead to chronological information and recommended sources.

Oxford Scholarship Online
This will search for entire books, some of which will be available online. 

 

How was this class?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Your Librarian

Profile Image
Marilyn R. Pukkila
Contact Info
Miller Library
Colby College
207-859-5145
Send Email
Office Hours:
Miller: M-F by appointment Diamond 259 Tuesdays 3:15- 5 pm
 

Icons used sitewide are from the Crystal Clear icon set by , licensed under the GNU Lesser General Public License (LGPL).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip