Skip to main content

HI 297A Into the Archive: The Politics and Practice of Archival Research

JanPlan 2018 (Instructor: Jessica Mack)

Colby Library Guides: Latin American Studies

Includes primary source material from these archives and collections.

  • Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
  • Salalm
  • Center for Research Libraries
  • Princeton University Libraries Latin American Microfilm Collection
  • Princeton University Digital Archive
  • Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
  • Hathi Trust
  • Historical newspapers and magazines
  • and other regional collections

LANIC: Archives & Digitized Collections in the U.S. & Latin America

Colby Library Guides: The Holocaust

Note pages (tabs at the top) for Digital Archives & Collections and Primary Sources.

Marilyn Pukkila is the Research and Instruction librarian for History and Jewish Studies.
To arrange a consultation with her, email your best dates/times to meet:
mrpukkil@colby.edu
Miller Library 107D

Primary & Secondary Sources

Primary Sources - Documents & artifacts created at or near the time of an event. The memories and recollections of people who experienced or witnessed the event are also primary sources. Examples include:

  • Diaries/Journals
  • Letters/Correspondence
  • Interviews/Oral histories
  • Witness/Eyewitness accounts
  • Personal narratives
  • Official records (government documents, business records, organizational reports, etc.)
  • Newspaper or magazine articles written at the time

Secondary Sources - Writings after the fact by people who did not experience the event. This includes the scholarly analysis found in journal articles.

Research & Instruction Librarian - Global & Latin American Studies

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
Email: esthiels@colby.edu
Phone: (207) 859-5140
Office: Miller 107A

I'm available for individual or group research consultations. Just email me your best dates/times.

Or drop by during my office hours.
Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next