Skip to main content

HathiTrust Digital Collection at Colby: WELCOME TO THE COLLECTION

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Feedback

WHAT IS THE HATHITRUST COLLECTION?

                                                                                                                                 

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital repository and access platform created to provide long-term preservation and access for public works in the public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and partner institutions. 

Colby College Libraries became a HT member in 2013.  Membership allows COLBY users to download full text public domain materials after authentication with their Colby ID and Password.

SOME HATHI NUMBERS

  • 11,000,630 total volumes
  • 5,748,694 book titles
  • 285,992 serial titles
  • 3,850,220,500 pages
  • 493 terabytes
  • 130 miles
  • 8,938 tons
  • 3,630,631 volumes(~33% of total) in the public domain

CATALOG OR FULL TEXT SEARCH- WHICH ONE?

  • Search the catalog for descriptive information only, such as author or title.
  • Search full-text for descriptive information plus full-text that occurs in a work, such as a name, place, citation, or favorite quote.  Deselect FULL VIEW ONLY to expand search beyond public domain material only.

CATALOG SEARCH

De-select Full View Only to search entire collection, including in-copyright and public domain material.

FULL TEXT SEARCH

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next