Skip to main content

GO 456: Civil Society and Social Change: Latin America

Fall 2016 - Prof. Lindsay Mayka

FIND ARTICLES

Databases contain citations to a variety of materials - articles (journal, newspapers, magazines), working papers, books, dissertations, etc.

To find Journal Articles in databases, look for options to limit or refine your search to scholarly/academic articles or journals.

Peer-Reviewed Articles are the gold standard of scholarly research. Many databases allow you to limit your results to these types of articles.

Narrowing results by Date Range  is another way to refine a search. Some databases offer a slider tool:

Look at Subjects or Author-Supplied Keywords in item records. Use these terms & links to help you better focus your search.

Experiment with search terms and combination of terms. This can make a huge difference in your results.

Check References and Bibliographies in relevant articles to find more articles!

Search multiple databases to get the best results. Different databases have different collections of material.

LIBRARIAN

Kara Kugelmeyer's picture
Kara Kugelmeyer
Contact:
Olin Library
4000 Mayflower Hill Dr, Waterville, ME 04901
(207) 859-5791

GO 456 LIBRARY COURSE GUIDE


Photo: La Paz, Bolivia by David Almeida (Flickr Creative Commons)

NEWS & CURRENT EVENTS

rss iconDID YOU KNOW...?
Many websites and subscription databases allow you to create a newsfeed tailored to your specific country and/or interest area. If you need help with this, ask a librarian.

GREY LITERATURE / WORKING PAPERS

Grey Literature is material that has NOT been published by commercial publishers. This includes working papers, reports, policy briefs, blogs and dissertations.

Grey literature can have the advantages of immediacy and/or divergent points of view, however, all grey literature should be very carefully scrutinized and evaluated.

FIND BOOKS

   

in:

Advanced Search

In addition to keywords, try searching by Subject. Some examples:
Latin America - Civil Rights
Latin America - Civil Society
Latin America - Economic Conditions
Latin America - Education
Latin America - History
Latin America - Public Health
Latin America - Social Movements

Try also subject searching by Country Name

Find one good item in a keyword search? Check the subject headings in the item record!

Can't find it in CBBcat?

NExpress - a consortium of  seven college and university libraries in New England (3-5 day delivery)

MaineCat - provides access to library collections across Maine.  (3-5 day delivery)

WorldCat - Materials can be ordered through ILLiad

LIBRARIAN

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
Email: esthiels@colby.edu
Phone: (207) 859-5140
Office: Miller 107A

Spring 2017 Office Hours:
Mondays: 9:30am-11am
Thursdays: 9:30am-11am
OR email to arrange another time