Skip to main content

FR 358: Home

Useful Catalogues

Search the CBB Collections:

in:


Advanced Search

Extend your search to libraries worldwide with WorldCat

Search the Bibliotheque Nationale de France

For digitized texts and images, search Gallica


Constantin Guys. Reception, c. 1850/1855.
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Larned Coburn Memorial Collection.

 


 

Sample Books in CBB

Art, Literature, & Medicine

The Deathbed of Madame Bovary (1883) by Albert Auguste Fourie
​Source: Wikigalleries

 

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in MLA International Bibliography and other databases at left
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.

              * Biographical? Try DLB, Credo, or monographic biographies. 

               *Contemporary public opinions?  Search, e.g.,  ARTFL​, NCCO, Gallica, historical books. 

               *Literary analyses of an author? Search in MLA International Bibliography and library catalogues. 


And if you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me:                                        kjgillum@colby.edu

Information on History of Medicine in English

For more information, see the guide: Medicine & Health: History of Medicine

Scientific Racism

Ethnology as myth: a century of French writing on the Peuls of West Africa

Williams, E A. Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences24.Oct 88 (Oct 1988): 363-377.

Theorizing Race in Nineteenth-Century France: Music as Emblem of Identity

Pasler, Jann. The Musical Quarterly89.4 (Winter 2006): 459-504.

Les mots esclavenègreNoir, et les jugements de valeur sur la traite négrière dans la littérature abolitionniste française de 1770 à 1845

Daget, S. Rev. franç. Hist. O.-Mer60 (1973): 511-548.   You will need to request this through ILL.

Les ombres noires de Saint Domingue: The Impact of Black Women on Gender and Racial Boundaries in Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century France     This is a dissertation: the bibliography is likely to be useful, but consult with Prof. Paliyenko before using the text

EsclaveNegreNoir: The representation of blacks in late 18th and 19th-century French art   Another dissertation

Sentiment of the World on Slavery. New York Times (1857-1922) [New York, N.Y] 29 Apr 1858: 4.  A rather astonishing article.

 

BOOKS

Labeling people : French scholars on society, race and empire, 1815-1848 

A Black corps d'élite: an Egyptian Sudanese conscript battalion with the French Army in Mexico, 1863-1867, and its survivors in subsequent African history

 

La Grande encyclopédie, inventaire raisonné des sciences, des lettres et des arts,...  look in the appropriate volume for the entry on RACES HUMAINES. There is an article of several pages, scientifically subdivided and categorized. This 19th-century encyclopedia is shelved near my office.

Race & Identite

Out of Africa: Orientalism, 'Race' and the Female Body

Doy, Gen. Body & Society2.4 (Dec 1996): 17-44.

 
Pap Ndiaye  Le Mouvement social, No. 213 (Oct. - Dec., 2005), pp. 91-108
 
Jennifer Anne Boittin   French Politics, Culture & Society, Vol. 27, No. 2 (Summer 2009), pp. 23-46  This is primarily about a later period, but it begins with a discussion of vocabulary that might be useful to follow up on
 
What's in a Name? Mixed-Race Families and Resistance to Racial Codification in Eighteenth-Century France  Jennifer L. Palmer  French Historical Studies, Vol. 33, No. 3, Intersections of Race and Gender in French History (SUMMER 2010), pp. 357-385   Even though a little early, this looks very helpful
 
 

BOOKS

 

Dictionnaire de la négritude

Carole Reynaud-Paligot, DE L’IDENTITE´ NATIONALE. SCIENCE, RACE ET POLITIQUE EN EUROPE ET AUX E´TATS UNIS XIXe-XXe SIE` CLE, Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 2011,

    from a review: 

Michael Banton (2013) DE L'IDENTITÉ NATIONALE. SCIENCE, RACE ET POLITIQUE EN EUROPE ET AUX ÉTATS UNIS XIXE-XXE SIÈCLE, Ethnic and Racial Studies, 36:2, 373-374, DOI: 10.1080/01419870.2012.727446 To link to this article

by Roosmalen, Auguste de. [from old catalog]
Published 1866        full text online from Hathi Trust
 

De la littérature des Nègres  : ou, recherches sur leurs facultés intellectueles, leurs qualités morales et leur littérature : suivies des notices sur la...

by Grégoire, Henri, 1750-1831. Published 1808   full text online from Hathi

Maladies des Femmes

Dictionnaire de médecine usuelle à l'usage des gens du monde  online digitized copy

Revue médico-chirurgicale des maladies des femmes  (1879-1897) may be requested from CRL

Manuel pratique de gynécologie et des maladies des femmes by Sinéty, Louis de 1879   full text online from Gallica

Clinique médicale sur les maladies des femmes  1860   full text online from Hathi

Women and medicine in the French Enlightenment : the debate over "maladies des femmes"  request from Colby storage

Leçons sur les maladies des femmes  may request from CRL

Maladies des organes génitaux de la femme. Ouvrage tr. de l'allemand sur la 6. éd.  request through ILL

Maladies des femmes  1784  full text online from Hathi

Maladies de femmes et fonctionnement des images médicales dans l'oeuvre de Barbey d'Aurevilly  ch. (p. 77-97)  in: Epidemics and Sickness in French Literature and Culture  request as a chapter through WorldCat/ILLiad

ARTICLES

Joseph-Claude-Anthelme Récamier (1774-1852): forerunner in surgical oncology.

Androutsos G, Karamanou M, Stamboulis E, Tsoucalas G, Kousoulis AA, Mandelenaki D.

J BUON. 2011 Jul-Sep;16(3):572-6.  You will need to request this through ILLiad, going into your ILLiad account and using the form for requesting articles. Ask if you need help!

 

Uterine cancer through the works of the eccentric Auguste Joseph Lutaud (1847- 1925), famous gynaecologist, publisher and intellectual of the 19th century.

Androutsos G, Karamanou M, Pappa KI, Piagkou M, Fiska A.

J BUON. 2011 Jan-Mar;16(1):186-90.    This article also needs a request through ILLiad. Don't hesitate to ask if you'd like me to write up the steps for you.

Subject Headings in CBBcat

Women - Health & Hygiene - France - History 

 

Special Databases

PubMed

Citing Sources

Example of MLA Style on a Works Cited page for an article retrieved from a database:

Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction 47.3 (2006): 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 17 January 2013.

thus the formula is:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal  volume #. issue # (year): page numbers. Name of Database. Web. Date

of access [day month year].

More Examples and explanations at Purdue's OWL site:

"Why cite?"

Citations show the research path someone took to develop an idea, and they provide leads for other researchers to discover information in related resources.

"When to cite?"

You need to cite when you directly quote someone else, and it's also important to cite when you refer to another person's ideas or when you outline someone else's argument or line of reasoning.

 

Books in Storage

How books in Colby Storage appear in the catalog

Record for a book in storage as it appears in the CBB Catalog. Click where the arrow points to request.