Skip to main content

FR 120: FR120

SEARCHING THE CATALOGS

 

Search the catalogs of Colby, Bates and Bowdoin with CBBcat

Extend your search to libraries worldwide with WorldCat

Conduct more targeted searches in individual databases for newspaper, magazine & journal articles:

​  For Reference:


 

Library of Congress subject headings for finding books at Colby:

Photograph taken October 30, 1941 in the studios of the BBC


 

More books by:

Conference on a book by:

 LA from the air; photo from flickr, by Irina


 

Subject searches in Credo Reference:

Photograph: Georges Bartoli/Reuters; published in The Guardian


 

Topics from 60 Million Frenchmen Can't Be Wrong

View from Bear Lake, Daniel Mayer (Mav) photo


Topics from American Vertigo


Resources on Rhetorical Analysis

FINDING YOUR WAY

 

Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking

  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more

  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

           

If you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me:                                        kjgillum@colby.edu


f


 

Why should I use Reference Sources?

How can you identify a scholarly journal article?

When should I use popular journals and newspapers?
 

To look for...

  • definitions
  • historical context
  • biographical information
     

Look for...

  • in-text citations
  • a bibliography
  • original research in a specific discipline

Popular media...

  • reflect popular contemporary views on a topic
  • editorial oversight provides some factual reliability

Patriotism
A few books:
  • The Many Faces of Patriotism / edited by Philip Abbott
  • For Love of Country? / Martha C. Nussbaum
  • Consent, Dissent, and Patriotism / Margaret Levi
  • Identities, Affiliations, and Allegiances / ed. by Seyla Benhabib, Ian Shapiro, and Danilo Petranović

Remeber to look at a book's bibliography to find out more about your topic

 

For Academic Articles:

 

For a more Popular Point of View:

 

For Newspaper Articles:

  • ProQuest Newsstand - this will work better than limiting to >Newspapers< in one of the other databases

 

    

SOURCES

Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format 

2. Set search limits before you begin searching so that ALL your results are from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals or books.

3. Explore MLA's indexes to find articles that fall into very specific parameters. Also, try using Names as Subjects and the Thesaurus to pinpoint MLA-specific subject areas.

4. Once you've generated a results list, further refine your search by adding Subject Terms.

5. NEVER GIVE UP! Almost every article will be available to you either online, on mcrofilm, in print, or through Interlibrary Loan (My ILLiad Account). If something looks good to you, be persistent in your hunt.

CITING SOURCES

Example of MLA Style on a Works Cited page for an article retrieved from a database:

Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction 47.3 (2006): 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 17 January 2013.

thus the formula is:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal  volume #. issue # (year): page numbers. Name of Database. Web. Date

of access [day month year].

 

More Examples and explanations at Purdue's OWL site:

"Why cite?"

Citations show the research path someone took to develop an idea, and they provide leads for other researchers to discover information in related resources.

"When to cite?"

You need to cite when you directly quote someone else, and it's also important to cite when you refer to another person's ideas or when you outline someone else's argument or line of reasoning.

 

STORAGE DISPLAY

How books in Colby Storage appear in the catalog


Record for a book in storage as it appears in the CBB Catalog. Click where the arrow points to request.