Skip to main content

French Literature and Studies: Web Sites

Associations and Additional Web Sites

  • ARTFL Project A project by the University of Chicago, consisting of e-texts, dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes, and links. While many links specify that one must be a member of the ARTFUL consortium to use them, in most cases they allow access to anyone.
    • ARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main ARTFL Database, comprising more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries, 215 million words and 675,000 unique word forms. Click here for a full listing of titles contained in the Frantext database. Click here for tips on searching the Frantext database.
    • ARTFL Encyclopédie
    • ARTFL Reference Collection
  • French Connection Contains links to lots of French and Francophone cultural and culturally-related sites. Text in French.
  • French Studies Web A page maintained by a member of the Association of College and Research Libraries' Western European Studies Section.
  • Internet Modern History Sourcebook A series of history primary sourcebooks, focusing on modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.
  • Research Guide for the Study of Francophone Literature An extensive collection of print and electronic resources, which covers Francophone culture and studies as well as literature.

  • Gallica  une des plus importantes bibliothèques numériques accessibles gratuitement sur Internet. Books, periodicals, artwork, manuscripts, sound recordings available online in a variety of digital modes. Some texts can be read in pdf format, some in "text."  Remember that French convention places the table of contents at the end of a volume; if you bring up a table des matieres, you will need to page backward to find the text to which it refers.
  • CCFr (Catalogue Collectif de France) propose en une interrogation unique l'accès à trois catalogues français : BnF catalogue général, catalogue des bibliothèques universitaires, catalogue des fonds anciens (avant 1811) ou locaux de bibliothèques municipales ou spécialisées.
  • Catalogue General de la BnF  contient la majorité des références des documents conservés sur tous les sites de la BnF.
  • Europeana  donne accès à plusieurs millions de documents numérisés représentatifs du patrimoine historique et culturel de l’Europe.  

Librarian for Humanities

Karen Gillum's picture
Karen Gillum
Miller Library 107B
(207) 859-5123

In-office hours: T 10:00-11:00; F 11:00-1:00
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next