Skip to main content

CI 321 Mainely Cinema: Film and the Archive

Spring 2018

Film Archives & Digital Collections

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

http://www.oscars.org/library/resources

http://www.oscars.org/film-archive/collections

 

Anthology Film Archives

http://anthologyfilmarchives.org/collections/collections-landing

 

Black Film Center/Archive

http://www.indiana.edu/~bfca/home/

 

European Film Gateway

http://www.europeanfilmgateway.eu/

 

FIAF - International Federation of Film Archives

http://www.fiafnet.org/

 

Film Archives Online

http://www.filmarchives-online.eu/searchmask

http://www.filmarchives-online.eu/partners/

 

Gallica, the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France

http://gallica.bnf.fr/?&lang=EN

 

George Eastman House

https://eastman.org/moving-image

 

Internet Archive – Moving Image

https://archive.org/details/movies

 

Library of Congress - Moving Image Research Center

http://www.loc.gov/rr/mopic/

 

Media History Digital Library – Lantern

http://mediahistoryproject.org/

 

MoMA Film, Museum of Modern Art (New York, New York)

https://www.moma.org/explore/collection/departments/film

 

Museum of the Moving Image Source Archives List – US

http://www.movingimagesource.us/research/guide/type/27

 

Pacific Film Archive –Cinefiles

https://cinefiles.bampfa.berkeley.edu/cinefiles/

 

UCLA Film and Television Archive

https://www.cinema.ucla.edu/

Research Resources

Photo: The Alamo Theater, Bucksport, Maine - Flickr Creative Commons (CC BY-NC 2.0)

Maine Archives

Northeast Historic Film   http://www.oldfilm.org/

Maine Memory Network   http://www.mainememory.net/

Maine Historical Society   https://www.mainehistory.org/

Maine Archives & Museums  https://www.mainemuseums.org/Find/

ArchiveGrid   https://beta.worldcat.org/archivegrid/

Bangor Historical Society  http://www.bangorhistoricalsociety.org/

Colby / Waterville Specific

Colby Echo   http://bit.ly/colby-echo-archive

Oracle  https://digitalcommons.colby.edu/oracle/

Colby Alumnus   http://bit.ly/colbyalumnus

Colby Magazine   https://digitalcommons.colby.edu/colbymagazine/

Eastern Mail (1847-1863)   https://digitalcommons.colby.edu/eastern_mail/

Waterville Mail (1863-1906)   https://digitalcommons.colby.edu/waterville_mail/

Waterville Morning Sentinel after this is available on microfilm in the library.

Online Projects

Early Cinema in Scotland

http://earlycinema.gla.ac.uk

 

Scottish Cinemas and Theatres Project

http://www.scottishcinemas.org.uk/scotland/standrews/

 

The London Project

http://londonfilm.bbk.ac.uk/

 

History of Moviegoing, Exhibition & Reception Project

http://homerproject.blogs.wm.edu/projects/

 

Britain on Film

http://www.bfi.org.uk/britain-on-film)

 

Prelinger archives

https://archive.org/details/prelinger

 

London Silent Cinema

http://www.londonssilentcinemas.com

 

Library of Congress National Film Preservation Board

https://www.loc.gov/programs/national-film-preservation-board/about-this-program/

 

Chicago Film Archives:

http://www.chicagofilmarchives.org/

 

Archives of Appalachia:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/archivesofappalachia/sets/72157623671983366/

 

Going to the Show (North Carolina):

http://gtts.oasis.unc.edu/

 

Cinema Context (early Dutch):

http://www.cinemacontext.nl/

 

Mapping the city in film:

https://www.liverpool.ac.uk/architecture/research/cava/cityfilm/

 

858 archive

https://858.ma/

Other Databases

You can often check a box that limits your search to peer-reviewed or academic journals.

Scholarly/Academic Journals

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

Other Library Guides

Film Archives Journals

Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Please don't hesitate to come to me for assistance or questions!
Email me your best dates/times to meet or stop by my office, Miller Library 107C.

Spring 2018 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm
(except 5/8 12-1:30pm)
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next