Skip to main content

Collection of Thomas Bailey Aldrich Materials: GENERAL INFORMATION

SUMMARY INFORMATION

Repository: Colby College Special Collections

Title: Collection of Thomas Bailey Aldrich Materials

ID: ALDR.1

Date: 1857 - 1917 and undated

Extent: 0.5 Linear feet

Language:

Preferred Citation note

Collection of Thomas Bailey Aldrich Materials, Colby College Special Collections, Waterville, Maine.

BIOGRAPHICAL/HISTORICAL NOTE

Thomas Bailey Aldrich -- poet, novelist, traveler and editor -- was born in New Hampshire in 1836. His father's death in 1849 caused him to abandon his idea to attend college and move to New York to work with his uncle at age 16. Soon he became a constant contributor to newspapers and magazines and the intimate friend of many Bohemian poets, artists and writers. He was editor of various major newspapers and magazines in New York and Boston from the 1860s to the 1890s. During this time he was also a prolific, published writer of prose and verse. He died in Boston in 1907.

SCOPE & CONTENTS NOTE

The collection contains correspondence from Aldrich to many contemporaries, also a small number of manuscript items, several photographs, and three folders of clippings that document his life and work. Materials date primarily from the 1870s to the early 1900s.

ARRANGEMENT NOTE

Materials arranged in four series: Correspondence, Manuscripts, Photographs and Clippings.

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Conditions Governing Access note

Collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use note

Materials to be used on site during regular Special Collections hours or by appointment. Photocopying or scanning may be possible at the discretion of staff for a nominal fee. Materials may be protected by copyright.

Custodial History note

Materials acquired via gift or purchase.