Skip to main content

EN 333 Environmental Revolutions: Spring 2017

In American Culture and Literature. Instructor: Jay Sibara

Find Articles about Literature or Film

Scholarly Journals

Articles in scholarly journals are particularly important to academic research. They:

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

Look for options in databases to limit results to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Interlibrary Loan

Articles not available in full-text? Request through ILLiad interlibrary loan.

Look for Request from ILLiad or Request from another library links when a database advices you that full-text is not available.

This link is also available in Worldcat.

Access your account from the My Accounts tab on the Colby Libraries website.

OneSearch

OneSearch searches multiple resources at once. Use for very precise searches:

  • Finding a specific article
  • Finding book chapters on a topic
  • Finding book reviews

For best results, use limiters:  field drop-downs (Title, Publication Title), content type (articles, book chapters, book reviews), etc.

For topical searches, first consult CBBcat and individual databases.

EN 333 - Environmental Revolutions in American Culture and Literature

  Standing Rock, December 1, 2016. Photo by Dark Sevier

Find Books

Use CBBcat (our Colby, Bates & Bowdoin library catalog) to find books, e-books and films (DVDs & streaming).

 

KEYWORD SEARCH - just words

Use quotes to glue together words in phrases, titles or an author's name:  "lead poisoning"

An asterisk is a wild card that stands in for different endings of a word: critic* = critic, critics, criticism, and critical

A search string includes a combination of elements:  "Agent Orange" AND literature

 

SUBJECT SEARCH - "aboutness"

Takes you to items pre-identified as being about that subject. The terms are specific. Identify subject heading terms by checking item records found in a keyword search.

Helene María Viramontes (keywords) >
     Mexican American Women in Literature (subject heading)
     American literature -- Mexican American authors (subject heading)

More CBBcat subject headings:
Environmental justice in literature
Environmental protection in literature
Environmental protection and motion pictures

Subject headings can also be used to craft a better keyword search by identifying key terms.

 

GETTING YOUR ITEMS

Books in Miller Library: Look at the call number. Most literary works are on the 2 bottom floors of the Miller bookstacks.

Books located at the Colby Storage Facility, Bates or Bowdoin: To order click

Enter your name and bar code number (omit beginning and ending letters) from your Student ID or Library Card. You will be notified by email when your request is available to pickup at the Miller Service Desk.

To broaden your search further,  try the other catalogs listed under Books & More on our home page: NExpress, MaineCat and WorldCat.

Following a Citation Trail

Check the works cited, notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. You may discover a book or article perfect for your topic.

sample citations

Hafley, James Robert, 1928 - The Glass Roof: Virigina Woolf as a Novelist. Berkely: University fo California Press, 1954. (link to bibliography)

One good source can lead to another!
Look for a Cited Work using:

  • OneSearch (articles)
  • CBBcat (books, media available through Colby)
  • NExpressMaineCat (books, media available regionally)
  • Hathi Trust (sometimes has full-text digital versions of older books or articles)
  • WorldCat (if can't find resource locally)

Library Session Feedback

Please take our survey. Feedback helps us improve our teaching and services.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/PFVX8M9

Thank you!!!

Good Research Takes Time

Keep a research log & document every search.

Explore a variety of search terms.

Check multiple resources.

Carefully evaluate all materials.

Photo: Clock Roskilde University by nikolainewyork

Humanities Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
Email: esthiels@colby.edu
Phone: (207) 859-5140
Office: Miller 107A

Fall 2017 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm
OR email to arrange another time

Citation Help

Ask your professor which citation style to use & get help here:
 

To help gather and organize citations, and create bibliographies, try a citation manager.

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface.