Skip to main content

EN 325: Home

Online Sources of Criticism

To Find Articles:

General sources for academic articles on literature:


For a focus on the 19th-20th centuries:

Newspapers, etc.

Bookman 1895-1933

Athenaeum 1830-1921

Saturday Review of Politics, Science, Literature and Art  1855-1938

English Review  1908-1937

Note that Colby does have the Times Literary Supplement 1902 -  on microfilm. Articles are available on request. From 1926 on, find citations in MLA International Bibliography.   For citations to articles before 1926, use Advanced Search from within OneSearch. Search for: All Fields [author's name] AND Publication Title: Times Literary Supplement.

Ask for assistance with this process at any time: kjgillum@colby.edu

  •  

Books

Background Research

                            

       Whistler, Mother of Pearl and Silver, the Andalusian at the National Gallery of Art                                                  Wyndham Lewis, Bagdad ; at the Tate

         


Especially for Modernism:  Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism

Background information on Authors   (Each of these resources has different strengths. Explore them!)

Remember also:

   CBB Catalog Subject Searches:


  More Tips: 

   In the CBB Catalog, look for works BY an author by selecting Author from the dropdown menu.
   eg.  Select <Author> ; Search <Wells, H.G.>

   Search for works ABOUT an author by selecting Subject, and entering the author's name in the search bar.

 

Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in.

            Biographical?  Try Scribner Writers, Credo, monographic biographies, chapters in companions - or for primary material, published letters and diaries.

            Contemporary public reactions? Search historical newspapers or databases focused on the 19th century - they cover early 20th century, too.

             Literary analyses of an author? Search MLA International Bibliography.

And don't hesitate to ask me questions!  Karen Gillum  kjgillum@colby.edu

 

             

Citation Help

Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography   

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format 

2. Set search limits before you begin searching 

3. Try using Names as Subjects and add terms from critical vocabulary

4. Further refine your search by adding Subject Terms


 

 

....Cite articles from online databases (e.g. LexisNexis, ProQuest, JSTOR, ScienceDirect) and other subscription services as containers. Thus, provide the title of the database italicized before the DOI or URL. If a DOI is not provided, use the URL instead. Provide the date of access if you wish.

 

Formula for an article retrieved from a database on a Works Cited page:

                  

Author. “Title of article.” Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, year, pp. #-#. Database name, doi:#######/#######. [Accessed day month year. optional]

 

Example:

Alonso, Alvaro, and Julio A. Camargo. "Toxicity of Nitrite to Three Species of Freshwater Invertebrates." Environmental Toxicology,vol. 21, no. 1, 3 Feb. 2006, pp. 90-94. Wiley Online Library, doi: 10.1002/tox.20155.

Requesting Books in CBBcat

Record for a book as it appears in CBBcat

Click where the arrow points to request. Fill in only the numerals of the barcode on the back of your Colby ID.