Skip to main content

EN 200: Home

Research

Research Strategies

For Background Information, Search:

  • ​​​Use terminology and facts learned from the background articles to search for scholarly articles and reviews in MLA Bibliography, JSTOR, and Academic Search Complete.

For Articles about these Writers, Search:

For Historical / Cultural aspects, search the database, Historical Abstracts   Try searching: England AND 18th century AND gender

   


Books

  • Search the Catalog for books by or about your writer.
  • Then expand your search with subject linking.
  • Be sure to look at the Table of Contents and the Index.

For works by individual writers, search:

  • the CBBcat by Author, typing in family name first

For Books about individual writers, seach:

You can also search for general subject headings or for topics from a specific period:

For Books in libraries across the country, Search WorldCat

      How to sign up for an ILLiad account

For digitized texts of early Books printed in English:

For 18th-century texts, explore

  • ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections
  • Use the notes and bibliographies from every useful source you find to turn up more articles on your topic. For a quick video on how to look up and request articles you cited, click here.  
  • Finally, think about what sorts of publication the information you still need might be published and stored in, and therefore where you would need to look for it.
    • Biographical?

    • Contemporary public reactions?

    • Literary analysis?


More 1-minute videos on using library resources



 

If you have questions, don't hesitate to contact me:    

Karen Gillum
kjgillum@colby.edu

SURVEY

The Compass

God the Geometer: Frontispiece of Bible Moralisee, Codex Vindobonensis 2554 (French, ca. 1250)

 

Timeline for the compass:

Requesting Books

For books at Bates, Bowdoin, or in Colby Storage:

In CBBcat, click on the CBB Request button in the record for the book you want. Then fill in your name and barcode number on the back of your Colby ID card.

To request books from WorldCatSign up for ILLiad

Citations and Annotated Bibliography

OWL logo

MLA style for citations 

The purpose of citations

  • to show the research path followed to develop ideas
  • to provide leads for other researchers 

You need to cite when...

  • you directly quote someone else
  • you refer to another person's ideas 
  • you outline someone else's argument  

 EXAMPLE of MLA Style 

         on a Works Cited Page for an article retrieved from a database:

             Stuart, Christopher. "William Maxwell's So Long, See You Tomorrow and the Autobiographical Impulse." Critique: Studies in Contemporary Fiction, vol. 47, no. 3, 2006, pp. 261-73. MLA International Bibliography. Accessed 17 January 2013.

Thus the pattern is:

              Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, year, page numbers. Name of database. [doi or url. Date of access (day month year).]

Web Resources