Skip to main content

EN 120 Contemporary Women's Literature (Spring 2018): Library Resources

Professor Cate Marvin

Find Articles

Use databases to find articles.

Articles in scholarly journals are part of a scholarly conversation.

Scholarly journals...

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

In databases, look for: 

Background Information

MLA Citation Help

Older editions of the MLA handbook are also available. Many databases still use the 7th edition.  OWL uses the 8th edition. Note the differences! Be consistent.

MLA 7th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies 42.2 (2001): 19-43. MLA International Bibliography. Web. 19 Jan. 2017.

MLA 8th Edition: Falk, Cynthia G. "'The Intolerable Ugliness Of New York': Architecture And Society In Edith Wharton's The Age Of Innocence." American Studies, vol. 42, no. 2, 2001, pp. 19-43. EBSCO, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40643250. Accessed 19 Jan. 2017.

EN 120 Contemporary Women's Literature

"The Lady and the Lion" Illustration from Snowdrop & Other Tales from the Brothers Grimm. London: Constable & Co. Ltd., 1920. Hathi Trust

Search Tips

KEYWORD SEARCH

  • Experiment with synonyms and related terms
  • Use an asterisk to stand in for different word endings: myth* = myth, myths, mythology, mythologies, mythological
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase: "stream of consciousness"
  • Use AND between terms to narrow results to items containing both terms: "fairy tales" AND mother*
  • Using OR between items (within parenthesis) widens results to items containing any one term: (mirror* OR reflection*)

 

SUBJECT SEARCH

Find one good item? Look at its item record to see if there are Subject Terms. These group material by together by topic which can yield more precise results.

Sample subject terms: 

  • Fairy tales -- History and criticism
  • Fairy tales -- Psychological aspects
  • Fairy tales in literature
  • Feminist literary criticism
  • Feminism and literature
  • Mythology in literature
  • Archetypes in literature

The names of authors and literary works can also be Subject Searches. Put an author's last name first and select Subject in the first drop-down.

Searching by subject in CBBcat can lead to a further list of sub-divisions. These can be helpful in focusing your research.

 

CITATION TRAILS

Check the notes, references and bibliographies of every relevant article or book. You may discover a book or article perfect for your topic. One good source can lead to another!

OneSearch

  • OneSearch is a discovery tool.
  • It searches multiple resources at once.
  • Use only for very precise searches, such as finding:
  • a specific article
  • book reviews of a specific title
  • book chapters on lesser-known people or narrow topics
  • Use limiters!  E.g. content type (journal articles, scholarly material, book chapters, book reviews)

Need to use these resources off campus?

For the most reliable access, install VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your computer or device.

Instructions are on the Colby VPN webpage: http://www.colby.edu/its/virtual-private-network-vpn/

 

Find Books

SEARCH our library catalog for books and media.

First drop down: Search by Keyword, Title, Author (last name first) or Subject.

Second drop down: Search the entire CBB Collection or limit by item type or location.

To order items from Colby Storage, Bates or Bowdoin, click on:

Good Research Takes Time

Keep a research log

Experiment with search terms

Check multiple resources

Carefully evaluate all materials

Photo: Clock Roskilde University by nikolainewyork

Course Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Please don't hesitate to come to me for assistance or questions!
Email me your best dates/times to meet or stop by my office, Miller Library 107C.

Fall 2018 Office Hours:
Mondays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 9-10:30am

Library Session Feedback

Please take our survey. Feedback helps us improve our teaching and services.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/PFVX8M9

Thank you!!!

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next