Skip to main content

Eighteenth Century English Literature: HENRY FIELDING

HENRY FIELDING

Portrait sketch by William Hogarth

Brief biography 

Literary & topical timeline 

Bibliography of works

Dates: 1707-1754
Nationality: British

Literary Periods: 

Age of Sensibility, 1745-1785

Augustan Period, 1700-1745

Eighteenth Century, 1700-1799

Neoclassical Period, 1660-1785

Literary Movements: 

Neoclassicism

RELATED AUTHORS

SPACE

Bow Street Runners break up a late night party in London, 1824. Image courtesy of http://deadliestfiction.wikia.com/wiki/Bow_Street_Runners

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Dictionary of Literary Biography  [Database]
Essays on the life and works of Henry Fielding, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

You'll also want to check out...

       

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography  [Database]

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Fielding scholarship published in books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.


You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next