Skip to main content

ED 493A Educator Activism: Teachers and Education Policy

Instructor: Karen Kusiak Ed.D.

Find Articles

Check these DATABASES for articles in scholarly/academic journals.

Articles in SCHOLARLY OR ACADEMIC JOURNALS:

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • are written by and for scholars
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain PEER-REVIEWED articles

Look for options in databases to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles, the gold-standard of scholarly research. 

 

Other periodicals (MAGAZINES and NEWSPAPERS) can provide contextual information, reportage and personal viewpoints. Recent newspaper articles provide currency. Here are some titles of individual publications that could prove useful.

Good Research Takes Time

Photo: Clock Roskilde University by nikolainewyork

Library Session Feedback

I hope you found the library session for this class helpful. Please help us improve these sessions by filling out the survey linked below. All replies are anonymous.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/PFVX8M9

Thank you!!!

Educator Activism: Teachers and Education Policy

Photo: "disabilities services:up the stairs, third floor" by Michael W. May (Flickr Creative Commons)

Find Books

SEARCH our library catalog for books and media.

First drop down: Search by Keyword, Title, Author (last name first) or Subject.

Second drop down: Search the entire CBB Collection or limit by item type or location.

To order items from Colby Storage, Bates or Bowdoin, click on:

Master research tip: start with a keyword search and look for subject headings in item records. Try both for best results.

Search Tips

Keep a research log - Resource searched, keywords used, limiters, # results, URLs of promising items.

Gather new search terms as you do your research. Especially look at subject headings in item records.

In CBBcat, subject heading links can lead you to "subject trees", which are great for topic exploration.

Some databases have a Thesaurus option in the top menu. Use it to identify subject headings and gather search terms.

Search multiple resources. Different materials are found in different databases and catalogs.

Use limiters (often on the left side of database search results) to improve your search (date, peer-reviewed, subject).

Look at a database's Publication limiter to get an idea of what journals are important in a topic area.

Some database providers allow you to search multiple databases together. Look for Choose Databases option in the database interface.

Use an asterisk at the end of a word stem to search multiple word endings (e.g. ethic* = ethic, ethics, ethical).

Use quotation marks to glue together a phrase for more precise searching (e.g. "higher education").

Look up article & book authors to help you evaluate an item. Search author names to find more articles.

Use Google Scholar or the Scopus database to follow citation trails. Who is citing whom?

Mine an item's bibliography or references to find other relevant sources.

 

 

Reference

Writing & Citation Help

Citation managers help you organize your research, collect citations & automatically create bibliographies. Our Citation Software guide can help you decide which to use.

 

Research & Instruction Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Please don't hesitate to come to me for assistance or questions!
Email me your best dates/times to meet or stop by my office, Miller Library 107C.

Spring 2018 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm
(except 5/8 12-1:30pm)
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next