Skip to main content

Protest and Dissent: Keeping Informed

New Books at Colby Libraries

Protest and Dissent

Photo: By Ted Eytan from Washington, DC, USA (Ferguson Protest DC 49906) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Databases, Journals, Websites and Other Resources

Reference

Oxford African American Studies Center - reference collection includes biographies, primary sources with commentaries, images, tables, timelines

African American Music Reference  biographies, sheet music, images, lyrics, and discographies covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, and gospel

Collections

African-American Poetry of the 18th and 19th Centuries

African-American Poetry of the 20th Century

Digital Schomberg: African American Women Writers of the 19th Century - collection of works from the New York Public Library

Abolition of the Slave Trade - Timelines, texts, images, essays, maps from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library

A People's History of Colby College: Activism and Social Justice Since 1813

 

Databases

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998

African-American Periodicals, 1825-1995

Ethnic Newswatch  newspapers and magazines of the ethnic and minority press in America: African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-American, European/Eastern European, Hispanic/ Latino/Chicano, Jewish, and Native American.  Coverage: 1991-

 

Finding More Books

Teach-In Bibliography

Thanks to the creator(s) of the following list of resources, included in the April 21st Teach-In guide.

1. Al Jazeera America  “Think riots have never caused change in America? Think again”

2. Sister Outsider Essays and Speeches by Audrey Lorde
The Uses of Anger
Age, Race, Sex and Class
The Masters Tools

3. Responsibility and Global Justice: A Social Connection Model By Iris Marion Young

4. Article adapted from “Five Faces of Oppression” by Iris Young

5. “Letter from a Birmingham Jail” by Martin Luther King, Jr.
"I must confess that over the past few years I have been gravely disappointed with the white moderate. I have almost reached the regrettable conclusion that the Negro's great stumbling block in his stride toward freedom is not the White Citizen's Counciler or the Ku Klux Klanner, but the white moderate, who is more devoted to "order" than to justice; who prefers a negative peace which is the absence of tension to a positive peace which is the presence of justice; who constantly says: "I agree with you in the goal you seek, but I cannot agree with your methods of direct action"; who paternalistically believes he can set the timetable for another man's freedom; who lives by a mythical concept of time and who constantly advises the Negro to wait for a "more convenient season." Shallow understanding from people of good will is more frustrating than absolute misunderstanding from people of ill will. Lukewarm acceptance is much more bewildering than outright rejection." - The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (April 16, 1963)

6. The Feminist Wire “A Herstory of the #BlackLivesMatter Movement” by Alicia Garza

7. Washington Post Monkey Cage Blog
 “The long and ugly tradition of treating Africa as a dirty, diseased place” by Laura Seay and Kim Yi Dionne

8. “When Race Breaks Out” by Helen Fox (Copies are available. Please contact the Pugh Center)
Chapter 4 (Classroom Confrontations)
Chapter 5 (Having a Civil conversation)

9. Anna Deavere Smith's Fires in the Mirror (YouTube, 14:21)
Fires in the Mirror is a solo performance piece Anna Deavere Smith created in response to the 1991 Crown Heights riots. Her solo work can be situated in the genre of docudrama. Docudrama is exactly what it sounds like, the staging of curated documentary material. This material can be historical (Gross Indecency by Tectonic Theater Project was created around the transcripts of Oscar Wilde's trial) or on what we would now recognize as ethonographic studies. For Fires in the Mirror Smith conducted a series of interviews with members of the African and Caribbean American communities, the Hasidic community, and political figures. She then performed these people regardless of gender, racial, or ethnic identity to present a complex and nuanced account of the violence that erupted. Topically, the piece is all too relevant. As a teaching tool, I would encourage colleagues to have conversations about embodiment (how do bodies perform race?), compassion/empathy in performance (how does Smith's performance suggest ways to understand the assumed other?), and virtuosity (does Smith's skill as a performer affect the larger story)? There are many other ways into the work, and I encourage colleagues to respond from their home disciplines.”

10. TEDx HampshireCollege
“How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Discussing Race” by Jay Smooth

11. “Adieu, Culture: A New Duty Arises” by Michel-Rolph Trouillot's

12. Thomas Biolsi African American with US law defining who counts as Lakota

13.  “White Fragility” by Robin DeAngelo

14. Abu-Lughod is another classic in anthropology, about the construction of Muslim women as needing rescue by white

15. “The Problem with Privilege” by Andrea Smith

16. New York Times “Anonymity and the Dark Side of the Internet” by Stanley Fish

17. Everyday Feminism “6 Reasons We Need to Dismantle the Model Minority Myth of Those ‘Hard-Working’ Asians”

18. “Kinda Racist? Try Diet Racism” (YouTube, 1:27)

19. New York Times “How Dr. King Shaped My Work in Economics” by Joseph E. Stiglitz

20. Economist’s View
“Inequality in Black and White: The Rigged Economics of Race in America, in Five Studies” by Kathleen Geier

21. The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander

22. Clockers opening (YouTube, 3:46, music by Stevie Wonder)

Mexico: Between September 26-27, 2014, Mexican police forces in opened fire on buses, killing five people, and 43 students disappeared from the Ayotzinapa Normal School, a teacher training college in the southern state of Guerrero. Police and other town officials, including the mayor, have been implicated. This case has unleashed widespread protests throughout Mexico and become an emblematic case of state corruption and role in narcoviolence.

23. The New Yorker “Crisis in Mexico: The Disappearance of the Forty-Three”

24. Vice News “Ayotzinapa: A Timeline of the Mass Disappearance That Has Shaken Mexico”

Kenya: On April 2, 2015, gunmen from Al-Shabaab killed 147 students at Garissa University College, targeting Christian and non-Muslim students.

25. New York Times “Somali Militants Kill 147 at Kenyan University”

Nigeria: Approximately 300 girl students were kidnapped one year ago by gunmen from Boko Haram. They remain missing.

26. BBC News “Will Nigeria's abducted schoolgirls ever be found?”

27. The New Yorker “Nigeria’s Stolen Girls”

28. New York Times “Boko Haram Abducted Nigerian Girls One Year Ago”

 

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next