SCIENCE ELEMENTS (ACS)
Weekly digest of cutting edge research
Loading...
HELP!
- Eric Weisstein's World of ChemistryDefinitions
- Martindale's CalculatorsSubject-specific calculations
- WWW Unit Converter
- Intute: Chemistry Tutorials(Must run in Internet Explorer)
USEFUL SEARCH ENGINES
More specific than Google:
- Scirus.comAuthoritative scientific Web sites
- Open Directory: Chemistry
- Sheffield Chemdex
- WorldwideScienceSearch info from global government agencies
- ScienceResearch.comIn Beta version, the site's mission is "to be the leading science research portal for students, librarians, researchers and scientists."
FIND CHEMISTRY ARTICLES
SciFinder Scholar is the most important chemistry database for articles, patents, & documents in all languages.
You need to register for 1st time use; then you'll receive a login ID for future use.
Consult the CH242 guide for more in-depth explanation on SciFinder Scholar.
- SciFinder How To GuidesQuick overviews of basic functionality
- SciFinder StrategiesInclude help with small-molecule searching and a substructure searching overview, synthetic chemistry, and polymer chemistry
- Scopus / ScienceDirectNEW interdisciplinary database. ScienceDirect is a subset of Scopus.
- Web of ScienceGood for interdisciplinary searches or if you're not a chemist and want some good primary literature articles.
- Science and Engineering Journal AbbreviationsList of journal titles by their abbreviations (left column)
CHEMICAL DATA & PROPERTIES
CAS Registry file - Substances searchable through SciFinder Scholar - Search by "Chemical Substance." (see above)
CCD: ChemicalExper Chemical Direct - Search basic physical data and suppliers of chemicals by registry number, molecular formula, chemical name or synonyms in different languages.
ChemIDPlus - 368,000+ chemical substances in the NLM (medical) databases. Inlcudes properties and toxicity data.
ChemSpider - 20 million+ unique chemical structures and properties. Can be used as a structure searchable database
ChemSynthesis - over 40,000 substances with their synthesis references and physical properties
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics SCIENCE REF QD65 .C48
- 92nd edition freely searchable online, see print copy for tables
- Tables Relocated or Removed from CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 71st through 79th Editions
Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
SCIENCE REF RS51.M4 2006
Nano, Quantum & Statistical Mechancis & Thermodynamics Data & Property Calculation Websites
Periodic Table of Videos - properties, usage, and live demonstrations in the lab
PubChem - Free search by substance, compound, bioassay on small molecules (from NCBI)
Web Elements Periodic Table and Periodic Table Flash Version (includes history and properties)
HAZARDOUS CHEMICALS
Chemical Database - from a variety of sources compiled by University of Akron 
Material Safety Data Sheets on the Web
TOXNET - Toxicology Data Network (National Library of Medicine)
SCIENCES LIBRARIAN |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geology, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics & Astronomy, Science Technology & Society Office Hours: during the semester: Monday: 9-11:30 & 7-10 pm Tues - Thurs 9-3 Schedule varies weekly; Email for appt. or questions |
RELATED SUBJECT GUIDES
NEW CBB BOOKS
Loading...










Loading...
