NEWS & PODCASTS
DISEASES

- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
- HealthMap | Global disease alert mapMaps of global disease alerts
- Cancer Biology – Inside Cancer: A Multimedia GuideNature of cancer in the human body (Flash)
- PandemicFlu.gov
FIND MEDICAL OR HEALTH JOURNAL ARTICLES
- Evaluating Internet Health InformationA Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine (16 min)
- MEDLINE (EBSCO interface)Database to citations in any area that relates to medicine.
- PubMedDatabase of citations from the biomedical literature that includes MEDLINE, in addition to other health databases funded by NIH (e.g., ToxNet, CancerNet). Use for more comprehensive searches.
- Scopus / ScienceDirectNEW interdisciplinary database. ScienceDirect is a subset of Scopus.
- Mednar - Deep Web Medical Search (BETA)New search engine includes blogs, wikis, Medline articles, government organizations, WHO.
- Additional related databases ...
DEFINITIONS; QUICK FACTS

- Dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations
- Gray's AnatomySCIENCE REF QM23.2 .G73 2005
- Healthopedia.com
- Medical Dictionary
- MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy (Merck Manual Medical Library)Everything you ever wanted to know about any disease, INTENDED FOR MEDICAL PRACTICIONERS. Also in paper SCIENCE REF RC55.M4 2006
- Merck Manual of Medical Information (Merck Manual Medical Library)clear explanations on medical topics INTENDED FOR THE LAYPERSON. Also in paper SCIENCE REF RC81 .M535 2003
- National Center for Health Statistics
MEDICATIONS

- Drugs.comprescription drug info, side effects, & interactions
- Physicians' Desk Reference : PDRSCIENCE REF RS75.P5 2007
- PDR for Herbal MedicinesSCIENCE REF RM666.H33 P37 2004
- PDR for nonprescription drugs and dietary supplementsSCIENCE REF RM671.A1 P48 23rd 2002
- RxList: the Internet Drug Index
SCIENCES LIBRARIAN |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geology, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics & Astronomy, Science Technology & Society Office Hours: during the semester: Monday: 9-11:30 & 7-10 pm Tues - Thurs 9-3 Schedule varies weekly; Email for appt. or questions |








Loading...

Loading...
